You Can Find Your Purpose

in #purpose14 days ago

There are countless questions posed by the very consideration of life. There are a lot of things in this life that our perceptual capabilities cannot decipher or explain, and even when reasonable explanation is given; acceptance is difficult. Perhaps "reasonable" is all that the explanations can be - appealing to reason but not being the truth. Truth is tricky. Most times, what human beings accept as truth or fact are those that resonate with our hearts, appeal to reason (is convincing) or match with experiential familiarities. There are times when persistent experiential happenings become so familiar that they become our truth and fact.
So many opinions about life is dynamic and systematic at the same time. Dynamic because our positions on the question keeps shifting with experience, other people's opinions and our intuition. Again, systematic in that there is a consistent solid basis for our shifting conviction. Dynamism in the consideration of the question destroys the fabrics of earlier conviction; while, on the other hand, the systematic opinions builds earlier conviction with enlightenment and quell previous doubts. Perhaps, purpose is a question too tiring to consider that we may best rely on the statement of Dasa Drndic in Belladonna to make things easier for ourselves: "... all life comes from shit and returns to shit. " That doesn't make it any easier, does it? And that's the Preacher's dilemma: It is useless, useless, said the Philosopher. Life is useless, all useless. You spend your life working, labouring, and what do you have to show for it? Generations come and generations go, but the world stays just the same... Everything leads to weariness---a weariness too great for words. Our eyes can never see enough to be satisfied; our ears can never hear enough. What has happened before will happen again. What has been done before will be done again. There is nothing new in the whole world.
a4c913ff5f1c42bfa720c14554600df0.jpg

I, the Philosopher, have been king over Israel in Jerusalem.. I determined that I would examine and study all the things that are done in this world. God has laid a miserable fate upon us. I have seen everything done in this world, and I tell you, it is all useless. It is like chasing the wind... I told myself, "I have become a great man, far wiser than anyone who ruled Jerusalem before me. I know what wisdom and knowledge really are." I was determined to learn the difference between knowledge and foolishness, wisdom and madness. But I found out that I might as well be chasing the wind. The wiser you are, the more worries you have; the more you know, the more it hurts.
I decided to enjoy myself and find out what happiness is. But I found that this is useless, too. I discovered that laughter is foolish, that pleasure does you no good. Driven on by my desire for wisdom, I decided to cheer myself up with wine and have a good time. I thought that this might be the best way people can spend their short lives on earth. I accomplished great things...Yes, I was great, greater than anyone else who had ever lived in Jerusalem, and my wisdom never failed me. Anything I wanted, I got. I did not deny myself any pleasure. I was proud of everything I had worked for, and all this was my reward. Then I thought about all that I had done and how hard I had worked doing it, and I realized that it didn't mean a thing...
So I started thinking about what it meant to be wise or reckless or foolish. Oh, I know, "Wisdom is better than foolishness, just as light is better than darkness. The wise can see where they are going, and fools cannot."But I also know that the same fate is waiting for us all. I thought to myself, "What happens to fools is going to happen to me, too. So what have I gained from being so wise?""Nothing," I answered, "not a thing."No one remembers the wise, and no one remembers fools. In days to come, we will all be forgotten. We must all die---wise and foolish alike...
So life came to mean nothing to me, because everything in it had brought me nothing but trouble. It had all been useless; I had been chasing the wind. Nothing that I had worked for and earned meant a thing to me, because I knew that I would have to leave it to my successor, and he might be wise, or he might be foolish---who knows? Yet he will own everything I have worked for, everything my wisdom has earned for me in this world. It is all useless. So I came to regret that I had worked so hard. You work for something with all your wisdom, knowledge, and skill, and then you have to leave it all to someone who hasn't had to work for it. It is useless, and it isn't right!

Follow me, comment and let's find purpose together. There's more to come on purpose. This is not all, just the beginning

Sort:  
Loading...

Greetings friend @agbos3

Welcome to Steemit, we are pleased that you have integrated into the platform. We hope you find a space to share original and interesting content.

I invite you to fulfill the achievements in the Newcomers community.

https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@the-gorilla/new-to-steemit-start-here

I recommend that you learn about the internal policies that you must take into account when publishing content on Steemit.

https://steemit.com/faq.html#What_is_considered_spam_or_abuse

On the other hand, it is important to let you know that the use of artificial intelligence is not allowed to generate content.

I wish you success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60723.46
ETH 3353.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51