You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The cry of Puerto Rico...Greatest nation in the world cannot figure out the logistics for a small island

The US military can send thousands of troops to fight war at a moment notice with billions of dollars worth or weapons, but when it comes to humanitarian missions for one of its "territories" it comes short. But I need to be clear that this problem isn't only a problem of the empire, it is one of the incompetent government officials on the island. Example, they set up a phone number for truck drivers to communicate, the phone number doesn't work. Truckers show up to offer their help only to get a we will call you, still waiting on the call. There is logistical problems that make one ask questions like why didn't the municipalities that have spent so much on emergency planning not even have satellite communications in place. Why don't the mayors that take home so much money have satellite phones. There should be no reason for lack of communication but this lack of communication is contributing so much chaos its appalling. My heart goes out to my island, friends and family on the island I have yet to hear from.

Sort:  

Everybody is in a state of shock after such a destructive storm, coordination and lack of communication adds to the agony and desperation on the ground...it took me over a week just to get message out from Hurricane Irma to let people know that I am ok, so I understand the frustration of the Mayor as I could imagine thousands of people looking for answers and she is helpless in the situation, especially when people are trying to find out about the love ones....I hope this strengthen relationship and they work together to deal with the debt crisis and build stronger...I also hope that the USA extends her hands to other islands as the implications of this hurricane season would be felt for a long time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66844.99
ETH 3499.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69