You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog Shares: Good News For Steemit, Good News For All of us!

in #publicity7 years ago

brilliant news - what i see in terms of positive for steemit is the fast indexing on google - when I google (ok via my own local machine, different results but still...) my series Today in #Sports #History or even only "Sports History" - usually I have 3-4 picks on page 1 on google from my own posts - this is encouraging for the platform - wondering how it is and how our bones are shaking when the marketing takes off and really more users turn up! More members is a good thing but it can also be a massive challenge as the spammers might come - i saw a lot social networks (steemit is different as much more) failing when the huge run of new users started. Discussions, negative vibes started - I really hope this will not kill us here! Thanks for the article @kus-knee - I am a fan now since 5 weeks of really using it but i know there will be challenges coming from new users too.

Sort:  

Yes, we will see what the future brings.

We will see is maybe not enough when the masses come - we all need to work together, as I ensure you the spam masses will hit us when the marketing starts in a usual way! As soon as money or financial rewards are in it will be a game for all of us to defend the platform - ideally a border to not let everybody in, qualification criteria or anything similar. Just saying @kus-knee

I think when it comes to the masses, things like SteemVerify will be very important. Honestly, I wouldn't mind showing my ID because it is a pay for content site and at some point I'm sure the tax man is going to want to put his hand in my virtual wallet (which will send all anarchists into a heated frenzy I'm certain.)
The learning curve is still quite steep for newcomers, especially if they have no knowledge in blogging and/or alt coin/blockchain technology. My personal feeling is Steemcleaners will nuke the spammers but it will be up to us to adopt newbies. I'm actually working on a post to propose such a call to action in another #payitforward initiative.

good point think we need to adopt the newbies and explain them step by step how they can add value to the platform and to themselves! This is key for such a platform, thanks for this thought @merej99 and @kus-knee I actually did think of such an article but honestly this needs to be discussed with the drives of steemit - and published as soon as we know when the marketing attack is going to be launched! No idea if this is sth to be discussed with @ned or @dantheman and if so via which platform - currently I am all in for steemit! We need t be prepared - therefore i am drafting sth up already :-)

Good stuff! Glad to have thinkers like you on the team!

How about an article from you about the defensive strategy? Perhaps putting a sports twist on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57431.51
ETH 3085.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35