Finding One's Voice to Say What One Wishes to Say


Source

In recent days I had the pleasure of taking part in an informal impromptu speech/ table-topics session.

I had run into a fair bit of traffic on my way to the Microsoft-hosted meeting, just a stones-throw away from the airport, and I had turned up a few minutes late.

The room was packed with a good thirty persons in attendance - and Madame president had already begun her address. I sat myself down at the back, trying to pose as little of a nuisance until beckoned to take my arranged position as time-keeper for the first part of the session.

The first session of speeches passed by in the blink of an eye - and I regret to note that a fair portion of my attention was taken up with ensuring that I keep precise timing for the rapid speeches. Should the speaker take the full allotted time of 30 seconds then I'd tap my little hammer to indicate that s/he is now on the clock, should the first minute of allotted time pass then I'd turn on the green light on the box placed in front of me. Should a further 30 or 60 seconds pass then I would turn the light to amber and red respectively. And should a further 30 seconds elapse then my hammer would drop again - signifying disqualification.


Source

After the first set of impromptu speeches were done, the time keeper and both evaluators were replaced for others.

There were three rounds in all.

The first set were given a statement.

The second set were to draw an item out of a bag.

The third set were to draw an image out of a bag.

All three groups were expected to deliver a speech spanning between one minute and two and a half minutes.

When all was said and done only a single person got disqualified - having had a really strong showing but stopping ten seconds short of the minimum time allotted.


Source

No, it wasn't me. I had a pretty good time with a thermometer that I found myself staring at as topic-inspiration during the second set. I have to admit that it certainly wasn't the sort of topic that I thought I'd be crafting an impromptu talk about - but it wasn't long before I had the audience's attention reasonably captivated within a vice of bemusement.

Two minutes can sometimes seem like a stretch when you haven't set foot upon the stage with any idea of what you'll be talking about... but in equal measure it can seem to pass by all too quickly - and this latter problem is far more common for me as green became amber and amber became red. Drawing things to a subtly hasty close can deduct points from the grace factor of any given talk - but at least people enjoyed the rest of it.

Not everybody was as lucky. This new guy got stuck and waffled on for a good minute. I felt sorry to see him in the process of crashing and burning as I tend to do that with "prepared" speeches (no more - I'm sticking to impromptu as it works better for my poor memory).


Source

Well he did finally find his voice but I still felt the need to have a friendly chat afterwards.

He told me that he had blanked and could figure out what he needed to say.

This is normal and fine and I told him that - and followed up with three pieces of advice.

Focus less on what needs to be said and more upon what you want to be said

When one needs something one is more likely to grow defensive over it. When one wants something one is more likely to be aggressive over it. Relatively, anyway.

The latter notion is more conducive to a flowing speech as it is in attack that initiative comes into its own.


Source

Focus more on the 'what' than the 'how'

When you step up to deliver a speech to a number of people, it can be tempting to fret over delivering things 'just' right. This can however lead to freezing up as one seeks the right words of what to say next.

Instead focus more upon the 'message' that one wishes to convey. If you can deliver it in a structured manner then great but if you walk off the stage delivering nothing more than the core of your message then you will have already done a lot more than had you waffled on with a nice sounding speech about nothing.

Its also a lot easier. Speak from your mind and even from your heart.


Source

There is no crowd

Let me share a little secret here.

As I move around the stage area, looking towards the left, and the right, to the front and back, the people in the crowd fade and blend into a nondescript mass. I do not make eye contact, not because I don't wish to - but because I do not dedicate enough brain power to facial cognition. At the same time it 'seems' like I am because I am looking at peoples' vicinity.

This also allows me to better focus on the message that I want to deliver and that bit of disconnect is also good for the nerves.

Something to remember next time 'you' need to talk to a small crowd.


Source


Fear of public speaking is not uncommon (and you may be surprised as to which televised personalities were afflicted by such) but these tricks should help ease that anxiety.

Do you have any comments that you would like to share? I look forward to getting into a discussion with you in the comments below below! :c)

Also, if you found this post interesting and would like to share this with your followers and friends then a resteem is always appreciated.

Sincerely,

Previous Post: Artemesia Wormwood Irons Out Cancer Fast

Sort:  

Hello Again Friend! It has been awhile, but I came back to find you writing high quality content like before!

This article is particularily relevant for me, a bit later this year I will be playing the role of 'best-man' which, according to my research, requires a speech.

I have been thinking of many anecdotes, and now I have them more or less arranged to spell out an over-arching theme, but I have been debating how much to write down. I'm not very good with it all written out, usually just a basic skeleton of notes that I never end up looking at anyway!

Good hearing from you, keep up the good work ;p

Hello @ecoinstant!

It has been a while. 2018 has made for a slow start for me - but thats alright. As you know I'm all about the quality (I am glad to see that you are doing fine with both quality 'and' quantity!).

As for speaking, I will say that the above points will help a person who intends on delivering an impromptu speech. My poor memory wrecks me during "memorized" speeches and so I am ill-placed to give advice there.

Should a best man's speech be memorized? Well - it can be OK to be so - but I personally think that you will get more mileage (and less headaches) by simply being clear on what you want to say rather than how you want to say it.

Which doesn't mean that you need to enter a speech with no idea of what is to be said. By all means do meditate on the value that the individuals being married bring into your life.

Even if they aren't particularly close (it can happen) then you could simply focus more upon how you hope that their union will enrich their lives.

Of course there are many other things that could be focussed upon. I recommend choosing 3-5 areas of focus (could be 3 main areas and 2 side areas). Meditate upon (or simply think about) them and be aware of 'what' you would like to say about each area. Secondly be aware of which area you might like to begin with and which you would like to finish upon. Be OK with forgetting this or that detail - to the casual observer you won't have missed any points when the day comes.

If you would like to memorize something then maybe just the one opening and finishing sentence. That will help to frame what you wish to say without greatly imposing upon your grey matter. :c) All the best with that!

Thank you again, both for the upvote as well as your great comment. :c)

A very welcome comment! Just talking about it with you already makes me feel more at ease :)

I tend to work in (what I call) waves, right now I am publishing a lot, and I am trying to keep up the discipline. But there are times when I hardly post at all, usually because I am throwing myself at some other work or project.

But I have to say, and it probably has to do with living and working in a developing nation, the expected income of my time on steemit is very high compared to most other things that I do ;p

By the way, you are an absolute master commenter. I think an anthology of some of your best comments would not be over the top :)

I am glad that you found my comment (and the post) helpful @ecoinstant :c)

Waves... I think that I quite understand what you mean. It can sometimes be easier to dedicate time to this platform than other times. Yes, sometimes we just have other things that need our attention.

This being a relatively developed nation , I know that the evaluation of Steemit's top-up may seem a little diminished by comparison - but it is the principle that matters.

You flatter me deeply! If Steemit could blush then this reply would be a deep rose colour. :cP

Excellent presentation of information on how to present It's a pity i don't get to utilize it anymore but perhaps this inspires to join a debating team 😉 One little tip (from my postgrad days): i would look at the crowd and find a friend. Zone onto that person and pretend you're just educating or talking to him or her. Once the nerves have calmed a bit, find another person you like and focus in. You then don't present to a scary crowd: you just talk to and educate a succession of sweet individuals. Worked for me...

Thank you @mysecondself01, both for your upvote as well as your highly welcome comment. ^_^ Apologies for the delay - I have been more than a little under the weather.

Technically there is a big difference between delivering a speech and engaging in debate. :c) The latter indicates the existence of an active differing if not opposed view within the context of which one's words are weighed.

Debate done right does not involve the clash of individuals or their egos - but we are well aware that such is an ideal that is often not lived up to - especially upon the political level.

Your suggestion to find a friend in the crowd is a very good tip. Friends, family and other allies can serve as emotional anchors that can steel one's resolve while delivering the message one wishes to.

The one thing to watch out for is to give the impression that you are delivering a speech to only part of the crowd. You will want to make people feel engaged and while the gold standard here is to try to gain eye contact with as many people as you can - this can not only be emotionally and psychologically demanding while delivering a speech - for larger crowds its simply impossible. So the next best thing is to try the address the 'crowdscape' - the mass of people - more or less evenly.Focusing too much upon the front may leave the back left out while focusing too much upon the back may leave people at the front feeling overlooked or looked down upon.

Thank you for the excellent feedback once again. :c)

You are right again (of course) Sir @pathforger 😄
I simply suggested a debate team because after so many years of presentations with postgrad studies, there's no way I'll ever be going back to University again. (haha- i'm a free woman!!) There's no other way you'll be getting me up in front of a crowd now...
Also, my suggestion was not one for the person who wishes to provide the best presentation. Rather, tactics are required for the presenter about to have an arrest from adrenaline overload and a bit of calm to the nerves is required.. Stay well and look after yourself 😊

"Sir" Pathforger?! Do I look like I go around clopping coconut halves together while trailing the livery of some stuffy house of blue-bloods? ;cP

Seriously if you guys keep this up I'll be cited as one reason why global warming remains a key issue in 2018. ;cP

That being said, I think that I understand what you are saying. You prefer the notion of 'backing' a viewpoint in a debate format rather than presenting a concept anew.

This is a fair point and while the skillsets are related - they are not identical.

And yes, your suggested tactic is certainly helpful for those who wish to survive their speech. Point also well-taken. :c)

Be well also @mysecondself01! ^_^

Wow, now i can boldly say i will focus on the what than the how

It is good to know that you found this to be helpful.

Thank you kindly for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35