You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding One's Voice to Say What One Wishes to Say

Hello Again Friend! It has been awhile, but I came back to find you writing high quality content like before!

This article is particularily relevant for me, a bit later this year I will be playing the role of 'best-man' which, according to my research, requires a speech.

I have been thinking of many anecdotes, and now I have them more or less arranged to spell out an over-arching theme, but I have been debating how much to write down. I'm not very good with it all written out, usually just a basic skeleton of notes that I never end up looking at anyway!

Good hearing from you, keep up the good work ;p

Sort:  

Hello @ecoinstant!

It has been a while. 2018 has made for a slow start for me - but thats alright. As you know I'm all about the quality (I am glad to see that you are doing fine with both quality 'and' quantity!).

As for speaking, I will say that the above points will help a person who intends on delivering an impromptu speech. My poor memory wrecks me during "memorized" speeches and so I am ill-placed to give advice there.

Should a best man's speech be memorized? Well - it can be OK to be so - but I personally think that you will get more mileage (and less headaches) by simply being clear on what you want to say rather than how you want to say it.

Which doesn't mean that you need to enter a speech with no idea of what is to be said. By all means do meditate on the value that the individuals being married bring into your life.

Even if they aren't particularly close (it can happen) then you could simply focus more upon how you hope that their union will enrich their lives.

Of course there are many other things that could be focussed upon. I recommend choosing 3-5 areas of focus (could be 3 main areas and 2 side areas). Meditate upon (or simply think about) them and be aware of 'what' you would like to say about each area. Secondly be aware of which area you might like to begin with and which you would like to finish upon. Be OK with forgetting this or that detail - to the casual observer you won't have missed any points when the day comes.

If you would like to memorize something then maybe just the one opening and finishing sentence. That will help to frame what you wish to say without greatly imposing upon your grey matter. :c) All the best with that!

Thank you again, both for the upvote as well as your great comment. :c)

A very welcome comment! Just talking about it with you already makes me feel more at ease :)

I tend to work in (what I call) waves, right now I am publishing a lot, and I am trying to keep up the discipline. But there are times when I hardly post at all, usually because I am throwing myself at some other work or project.

But I have to say, and it probably has to do with living and working in a developing nation, the expected income of my time on steemit is very high compared to most other things that I do ;p

By the way, you are an absolute master commenter. I think an anthology of some of your best comments would not be over the top :)

I am glad that you found my comment (and the post) helpful @ecoinstant :c)

Waves... I think that I quite understand what you mean. It can sometimes be easier to dedicate time to this platform than other times. Yes, sometimes we just have other things that need our attention.

This being a relatively developed nation , I know that the evaluation of Steemit's top-up may seem a little diminished by comparison - but it is the principle that matters.

You flatter me deeply! If Steemit could blush then this reply would be a deep rose colour. :cP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62483.85
ETH 2444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62