My life with PTSD and how I got help.........

in #ptsd8 years ago (edited)

So it all really started about7 years back when I got the call from my doctor that yes I have Complex PTSD and dissociative identity disorder. It was a lot to take in. I know now why I've been losing time, being very angry and now I wondered, " How am I going to fix it? "

Well to this day it isn't fixed but it has been managed. We hear stories about our brave men and women in combat getting PTSD from war and the horrible things they had to endure. And we also see how they struggle everyday with it, having to wait 12-18 weeks to be seen I the VA for them to get any type of help. What we don't hear much about is the people that live through terrible things in their lives like, rape, beatings, shooting, long childhood traumas.

I was one of the people that had so much childhood trauma I though it was normal. Having been beat from the age of 3 years old to 16 years old only to move out and into a whole different hell. Being a kid having to try and survive, you do what the adults tell you to do. Well mine told me "if you want a place to live you'll let me do what I want." And what do you do as a kid you either let them do horrible things to you so you have a roof over your head and food in your belly, or go live on the streets. Well lets say that person and others did what they wanted sexually until I was big enough to get away and live on my own.

I thought I was doing well and years went on and I had a drug and drinking problem and it was how I dealt with my own thoughts. Well fast forward to my 24 year on this planet and I met this women, and little did I know my soon to be wife.

She and I when through so much heartache and pain it wasn't funny. She got me into a therapy program which was ok, seemed to bring on lots of bad night terrors and lots and lots of migraines. I went from one program to the next for about 3 ½ years straight and nothing seemed to be helping. Until one day both my doctor and girlfriend at the time said " you love dogs, why not go to school to train" and so I did. My doctor also suggested acupuncture. After my first round I felt so much better. I got off the 17 different meds the doctors had me on and I started focusing on me.
After I did two years of dog training school with Animal Behavior College and stopping all meds and going very eastern medication I felt like a whole new person. With the help of this big guy too

I know I will have to always work hard to counteract my PTSD and D.I.D but with the right help and a loving support group you can over come some of the hardest parts. Not to say it was easy for my then girlfriend to handle because it wasn't, and we almost lost each other a few times. But in the long run I got the help and now that girlfriend imy beautiful wife.

Sort:  

Welcome to the community and I hope your PTSD gets better.

thank you very much it has, and it will always take work.

Congratulations @drakodreak! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @drakodreak! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58476.88
ETH 2522.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34