PTSD / Isolation/ Connection

in #ptsd7 years ago (edited)

My attempt to connect to people without actually connecting to people.  I've always been a very social person.  I love being social and I am one of those rare people that love talking to strangers and finding common links.  I crave being social.  There's this deep craving to connect.  I can barely leave my home though.  It has gotten a tiny bit better being on steemit but it's still not much of a life.  

My PTSD started about 20 years ago.  I had NO IDEA that it was possible to get PTSD if you weren't in a war.  When diagnosed I told the doctor that I had never been in a war.  I know.... hindsight is 20/20.  That was a very naive statement and mindset.  I was barely scraping by financially for years.  The only support system I ever had was a Neuropsychologist that specialized in Traumatic Brain Injury and also knew about PTSD.  He saw me weekly for free because I didn't have insurance.  He was a life saver.  I moved because I felt stuck in where I was.  I had lost my home of 20 years and my family refused to help me with anything.  I bought that home just after turning 21.  After losing my home I lived on a blow up mattress in a friends dirty empty warehouse for a few months.  I have 2 degrees and by Mensa's standards I'm a genious.  I haven't really spoken about my Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) much on here yet because I don't really know where to start.  If you look at my past posts you can read about how I lost 4 family members in 2 days and I was the only survivor in the car accident.  

Although my family knows all too well what happened to me I was kicked out of the house with a fresh brain injury and have been on my own ever since.  I had dreams.  I not only lost family (both alive and dead) but I also lost 6 tennis scholarships because of that accident.  My dreams were gone because I tried school and I couldn't remember anything for more than an hour or two.  This lasted about 3 years after the accident.  I'd changed and didn't even realize it yet.  I'll do more on this in another post.

I had adapted and learned to live with my TBI, after all I was pretty smart right?  After losing my whole world as I knew it, which happened within the next 5 years.  I lost my fiance and about 4 more family members and a couple of friends from High School.  I had a couple of dear friends that I would talk to about the pain.  Although most of my pain I directed at losing my fiance.  This is when my time started of "getting drunk with strangers"  that's what I call that period in my life.  I wrote a blog about it.  

Not knowing how after fighting and getting help I ended up way back at this point.  I've regressed sooo much that my mind is blown from it all.  I knew my PTSD had gotten bad again.  I've been trying to get help for 3 years.  I just hadn't really realized how bad it has gotten.  This brings me to the isolation aspect of it.  

Living around abusive people and family, I withdrew.  People that don't understand think I'm depressed.  I assure you I'm not.  I just don't have ANY self confidence anymore.  I once had a bright future.  Now my future is here and I feel like a bumbling idiot.  I'm afraid to meet new people because the conversation always comes up.  Usually by the question "What do you do"  "Where do you work"  ... things like that.  I am open about it because I don't want to lie or be dishonest.  I've even figured out PC ways of telling people to where they feel less threatened and feel ok with asking questions.  Most people run away immediately or (having no professional or personal background with either of my disabilities) try to fix me.  I'm not your pet project!  I just want to be treated like a normal person and with respect.  I want the chance to live a normal life.  Because of my many experiences with people I have lost trust in people and the world I live in.  I never know what's going to trigger me or when I'll get triggered.  I don't want to be 'that one friend'.  I don't have joy anymore because the PTSD has bled into the rest of my life.  I'm tired of being judged because I'm different.  I don't have the energy to go to new places and meet new people because I don't want to have THAT CONVERSATION yet another time to only get disappointed again.  I don't want to get hurt more than I already am because I cannot live with anymore pain.  So I sit inside my tiny apartment surrounded by people that yell and talk to people that aren't there.  They do and some deal drugs, there's prostitution and never really any peace and quiet.  I feel trapped in here and it's horrible.  It's a shit hole.  My apartment is clean but I have roaches.  Not because of anything I've done or not done.  It's because some of my neighbors are sooo gross and dirty that the roaches have infested the walls, ceilings and floors.  I'm safer in my apartment even though I feel trapped in here.  I don't have enough room to get another service animal and I desperately need one.  I'm stuck because I can't afford a larger, safer place.  This is my life now and that's where I am. 

I've found that sharing my story on Steemit has helped.  My goal was to try to raise awareness about invisible disabilities.  It's very draining but it's important to it's worth it.  I just can't do it every day.  Recently, I started posting about other things to try to connect with the community.  I've realized since I don't post every day that I'm losing regular followers, which is understandable the way it's set up here.  So I started trying to make at least one post a day whether I had the energy or not.  That's not working out so well.  I keep trying to connect to people in this virtual arena and I feel like I'm failing because I'm not getting the connections I need.  I Love Steemit.  I'm very grateful to have this opportunity to reach people.  I'm just sad I can't do this in the real world right now.  Thank you for reading.  

Sort:  

Don't give up!! I know it is hard. I am not here every single day either, so if I miss you once in a while, I am sorry. Take some deep breaths and try not to put so much pressure on yourself. You have a friend here,,, me!!

thank you alice marie. I'm actually pretty excited because I found a PTSD doctor that has significant training in it. I'm soo excited. I'll have at least 10 appointments so that's good. I just don't know if the insurance i have will cover it after that. But the good thing is I will be getting some help :)

Oh, I am so happy for you!! That is really good news!! Keep me posted. And I will keep you in my prayers. You can do this!!

thank you alicemarie :) I appreciate it

We must have faith in the future. If we don't life will feel like a burden. Your appointment with the doctor is such a great news. No matter how shit life is, we can always have faith in what it will bring. Can I ask you where you live?

Yes I live in Austin Tx. you?

Denmark. That's far away! I am planning a trip in Europe and would love to meet some users from steemit, so that's why I asked. I would love to meet you and give you that big warm hug!

Wow, that is far. With the political climate here right now, I'd rather be there lol
Aww, I would love that. Some day maybe we can :)

Congratulations @creativeusername! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You have made huge progress in the past few weeks, I wondered where you were FB me I have left some messages nearly time for a new scan .

hmm i never got any fb messages from you. that's strange.

Please go to my Fb pge I have done them, FB censoring?

I went there but I don't know what you're talking about. What have you done and what should I be looking for?

Can you post a new photo on The Body Detective Fb page please so I can redo your crystal thanks xx

oh hey, I saw your message the other day. I got side tracked and forgot all about it. I'll try to get that done tomorrow. Thank you. Hope all is well.

Hi there likewise side tracked message me if you can all the best for Christmas . All well here.

My oldest son was born in Austin! I lived there three years.

PTSD is horrible condition that robs you of so much. It seems you are on an upswing, and I hope everything continues to go well for you.

I'm so glad Steemit is helping. The community here is so supportive and encouraging. I am so glad I found this place.

I'm following you.

thank you so much. I appreciate the read, follow and the comments. I'm happy I found this place too. It's the little things that make life so much better right?

So true. It is the little things that make you you :)

I've always appreciated the little things more so than the big things. My theory has been without the little things, big things wouldn't be big. It's also the little things that people most likely take for granted. It's the little things that make me smile and give me joy :)
Glad you're in a better place

Yes! It's the sum collection of little things :)

I'm glad I met you! looking forward to growing with you here

me too. I look forward to reading more from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60