You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Personas of Interest [Original Fiction for The Ultimate Psy-Op - Conspiracy Writing Contest III]

in #psyop-contest7 years ago

I'm truly in awe that you can crank out something of this quality in such a short time. I'd be rewriting and editing something like this for hours. Kudos to you @techslut! Amazing.

Sort:  

:blushes:

Oh do go on! :)

But seriously: Sometimes stories just spill out in like an hour or two. And sometimes I sit around for days waiting for that illusive muse to drop by. Creative writing is unpredictable.

Don't you love that when it happens?

Not to jinx myself, but I've always wondered about writer's block. Ideas sort of line up like planes on the tarmac waiting to take off. It's my syntax, dangling modifiers, passive voice, inside-out sentences, crops of commas, redundancies and redundancies etc. that I have to deal with.

Most times I have to write and then revise and then revise again then put it away for a week or two and then revise some more.

It's not like I haven't written a gazillion sentences over the years. The stuff just pours from my brain onto the page like a puzzle dumped from the box. I have to find the right pieces and put them in the right order and that always takes the most time.

As such, I'm a much better writer than I am a conversationalist because I talk that way too. I guess that's what the "gift of blab" and a pan-fried brain gets you . lol.

My life. Story of. I babble.

I think that the advantage of steemit from this aspect is that isn't not very judgemental. It's no publisher. I dump drafts here, and whatever sticks may or may not be published somewhere "real" someday.

That's why I'm here too. Steemit represents a time-stamped repository of my intellectual property.

I wrote a short story long before The Lion King came out that is similar enough that Disney Studios would sue me if I tried to publish it now. If I'd had Steemit 20 years ago, Disney would be paying me fat royalties. Beyond that, though I'm not yet circling the drain, I'm old enough to see it from here. I want my stuff stored in cyberspace so that the colonists on Mars will be able to read my musings and marvel at how ahead of my time I was. Just call me Ishmael.

You got yourself a follower, Ish. Can I call you Ish? I am calling you Ish.

Put an "f" in front of that and I'll be just a bit bigger than a minnow.

In school, I got used to seeing "fs" next to my name. ;)

On your trail as well. I like your style.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61