The Natural Nature Of The Supernatural

in #psychology5 years ago

I'm a failure; I've been shoving forward something I promised myself I would do a long time ago. You see, one of my "hobbies" is thinking; since I was in high-school and even before that, people have always accused me of being an impossible day-dreamer. And the sad thing is that they're all absolutely right.


fantasy_painting_small.jpg
source: PxHere

Sometimes I have to force myself to stop thinking about something because it's just so ridiculously trivial, and I'm behind the wheel of my car to boot. My mind wanders off on it's own, latching on to small things like a bird passing by, snowflakes floating down from heaven or the observation that there's more flowers on the field than there were yesterday. But also thinking about thinking and trying to grasp the origins of my own thoughts and the state of "the human condition" or the origin of stuff and life are things I like to mind-wrestle with; today I marveled at raindrops flowing down a window; why do so many of them take the exact same path? Is there a "path of least resistance" to be found on a vertical glass window? Why does rain fall down in drops? Really, it's ridiculous.

But that's not the failure that pains me now; it's the failure to start trying to meditate in a serious fashion. Maybe it's because it seems my mind is never at rest that I've always admired people who are able to really clear their minds, to recognize the mind within the mind, the self, and to even bypass it and shut down the inner voice, that constant companion who never shuts up. The most tantalizing description meditation I've heard is this: meditating is trying to find the origin of your thoughts, and you've succeeded when you realize that you are not the thinker of your thoughts...

Another reason I'm failing today specifically, is that I didn't have time to write a more meaningful post today; another promise I made, almost a year ago now, was that I would write and post every day, and this is one of those days when it's harder to keep that promise. So I'll leave you with the short video that got me thinking about thinking thoughts again; I think Jamie Wheal (this is the first time I've ever heard or seen anything from this "expert on peak performance and leadership") makes a good case of explaining how we have come to call some experiences supernatural, when they in reality stem from altered states of consciousness, such as the meditative state I briefly mentioned. He specializes in neuroscience and application of "Flow states";

In positive psychology, a flow state, also known colloquially as being in the zone, is the mental state of operation in which a person performing an activity is fully immersed in a feeling of energized focus, full involvement, and enjoyment in the process of the activity.
source: Wikipedia


Altered States of Consciousness: There’s Nothing Supernatural About It | Jamie Wheal


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Intellectual Monopoly
The Joy Of Not KnowingOther Side Of The Coin
Storytelling ApocalypseThe Great Debate
Captain Mary Sue Goes ViralBillionaires Fearing "The Event"

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @eonwarped.

Thanks so much you, wonderful people at @helpiecake 😍🙏🏼 The cake looks delicious! 😋

Yes, the category of "supernatural" is useless.

No, flow isn't even near a shamanistic state. It isn't meditation.

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.492 which ranks you at #6451 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 275 places in the last three days (old rank 6726).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 148 contributions, your post is ranked at #108.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51