You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some signs that you were raised by narcissistic parents

in #psychology6 years ago

Sigh I know the type, intimately. Still negotiating, in my middle age, how best to deal with them, and how not to become like them...

Many thanks, for this illuminating post, @godflesh & I’m sorry you had to suffer what you did, to know it so well. I wonder if your (over)achievement, as a writer/reader/thinker is in part a response to being a child of Narcissists — as a form of escape, building boundaries & even your impossible attempt to gain their elusive approval?

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment. :)

I have the same struggle and fear as you not to become like them.
And yes this is one of the things t to create my own world. But not, the only thing. Some of the other things is the inability to fit into the world and the pursuit, through knowledge, in some way to reach it. It is really difficult and complex question. But to some extent these things are connected. :)

Yes, of course, not it's not the only consideration, but connected, as you say. As Freud says, 'before the problem of the creative artist analysis must, alas, lay down its arms.' Wishing you continued success in your noble pursuit, my friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.99
ETH 3431.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47