You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How much do we know about who we are and what we're doing?

in #psychology7 years ago

Read. Stare. Read everything again. Reflect. More staring. I pretty much had a hard time organizing my thoughts after the first read. But in the end, I think I'll start with saying self-awareness. Like you said, we're living in auto pilot. That comes from many things like up-bringing, culture, liefstyle, etc. When I was 13, I tried a public school. I was confused by many things and couldn't relate to a lot of their conversations. Then a classmate got sick and had to go to the hospital. The next day, she came to class with her IV line and cried when the teachers wanted to send her home. She begged them not to. Before the weekend, a few classmates asked me if I wanted to come with them and visit her. When I saw where she lived, I saw why she was desperate. Her family lived in a house about a quarter of the house I lived in. She couldnt afford to have even a fraction of her grades dropping because we were in a full scholarship section/class. And that was true for a lot of my classmates. I spent many nights thinking because I always thought everyone lived in 3-storey houses (I lived in a building but we only used the top) because all my playmates lived in such spaces or bigger ones. And little by little in that school, I saw that there was a disparity. Where some people could buy food and not finish it , others would make do with the little amount they could get and stretch it out for as long as possible. Where one could afford to be relaxed, others have to work twice as hard. It was an awful, awful feeling. That year was an eye-opener.

When we moved away the following year and I was in a private school again, I realized it was going to be hard fitting in because a lot of the wasteful things the other kids did pissed me off. To hear things like why if I finished this instead of throwing it away, is it going to make those hungry people feel full? Just because it's the normal doesnt make it right. I had to see another reality from my own reality for me to be self-aware what an effed up crap other people promote. No wonder my dad didnt agree with my grandparents. Raised that way was pretty messed up. Ugh all the food wasted when people were dying from hunger. In any case, after moving from the grandparents, my dad made sure we werent going to grow up self-entitled. I can still remember all the tears I cried when I spent the whole night washing the dishes that I can now do in half an hour lol. Ah! How we all need to wake up and learn to change our mindset and worldview enough to impove ourselves. Still cant get over how wrong it was to be so... Excessive.

Sort:  

Yeah, I don't waste food either. I'm not rich lol, but the only garbage I take out each weak is compost bin and recycling. The small garbage can is like once a month or longer some times. Thanks for the feedback and your life lessons that helped you learn.

Not rich either. Just on the lucky side then. (Not anymore lol). There's a zero-waste town in Japan, I just can't remember the name. It would be awesome if the world started to lean towards that gradually. And when I saw my reply on the pc, I realize I will have to make it a point to refrain from giving TLDR comments. I'd blame you for the great articles but that would be stupid lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70