You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do We Choose the Power to Do Right, or the Power to Do Wrong?

in #psychology7 years ago

Great points. I do think that there are people who think of their actions but that their own self-interest, in the end, wins over long-term survival. A lot of people focus on the now and perhaps the immediate future. But that's it. Only up to their immediate future so eh who cares if 10 generations from now the apocalypse happens, I won't be alive then. It's the type of mindset a lot of people adopt nowadays. What's that thing they say? YOLO or you only live once. "Drink and be merry for tomorrow we die." It's sad that a lot of us have grown callous to many issues like war and global warming. Could be the culture we're growing up in or even the fast-paced lifestyle now. In any case, there's a lot to be considered. Awesome post. It's though-provoking.

Sort:  

Yeah, not my problem right now, let the future generations, my children more their children, deal with it. Not us though... lol. We just want to keep what we have, we don't want to lose all that we have as part of our standard of living. The feel-good pleasure trap, live and forget about the bigger issues, be happy, party, etc. are all low consciousness mindsets. Thanks for the feedback.

"We just want to keep what we have, we don't want to lose all that we have as part of our standard of living." - This! Exactly this. I live in a country where the oligarchs are making bigger efforts as of late to make sure the poor stay poor because they don't want to cut down on their lifestyle. It's crappy but I guess that's just the way the cookie crumbles. Unless the powerful allows/instigates the change, I doubt there will be any notable change at all to any big/worldwide issue.

Thanks for the link. I'm going to go check it out, too.

What country do you live in?

Even in the Western nations, think of how we make ourselves dependent on energy. We have made a way of living that we don't want to let go. If there were no more oil energy, people would be forced to change their way of life. Just a thought I had on it too. Thanks for the feedback.

So I read your linked article and I'm apologizing ahead of time for my comment. TLDR-type without me realizing until I hit enter and saw it. Sorry!

Moving on, I live in the Philippines. I don't even want to start dissecting the mindset of the ruling class because then it's another TLDR-type comment I'd be flooding you with. It pisses me off. Even in small-scale places (I'm in a relatively rural area), the ones who have the power to do things right choose not to. Case to point, we've had no running water for almost a week but the mayor and her underlings aren't doing anything about it despite complaints because they're not affected. And to think they're overcharging us! Like putting extra fees/cut and charging exorbitant rates to begin with. They just don't care. It would be an extra effort for them to look into the matter so it's a yeah let your constituents find a way around that kind of situation. It's little things like that that build up. I can't imagine how harder it is in other places.

Damn that sucks. It's all lower consciousness personal lives and comfort focus, not about doing what's right. They care about the money, not the people. People need to stand up against that shit. Thanks for the feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51