You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 29 |The Architecture of Sustainable Happiness – Positive Psychology

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Dear Abigail, I am not just saying this to flatter you (or to flatter my "other half" that your cartoon avatar is lol) but this article took me about 5-6 minutes to read (and comprehend I hope) and I honestly feel much wiser and enlightened.

There are several topics that you "touch" in your post, but I would like to focus on forgiveness exclusively, as I tend to believe that if we (humans) manage to forgive with a sincere heart (and brain I may add), then we have taken a HUGE step forward, when it comes to our spiritual and mental evolution.

You are writing, Further, in positive psychology, forgiveness is not solely about that person who has hurt you. It is also about forgiving yourself for a past wrongdoing

Allow me to add that when you forgive, you do an absolute favor to yourself and humanity as a whole (some may not realize how). On the one hand, you let hate/pain go and this helps no one but YOU, as you are the one who experiences all these ill emotions that usually derive from hate/pain/urge for vegeance as the other person will never ever be directly infected by your pain or hate (well, that is if you don't take action in order to hurt him/her back).

On the other hand, when you forgive you defeat your worst possible enemy in life, YOUR OWN EGO!

Last but not least, let's not forget about self-forgiveness...The healing "superpowers" this simple (but so hard to achieve) act has, could solve so many existential and personal issues that often happen to be sources of more serious mental problems.

Forgiveness is usually accompanied with love&balance (inside us). Unfortunately, manyyyyyyyy people fail to realize that...even 2018 years after the ONE preached all about the eternal gifts of unconditional love and true forgiveness.

Regardless, that was ONE inspirational and encouraging post, Abigail. Thank you...the gratitude usually comes last :)

Sort:  

@tkappa ❤️My cartoon-soul-mate! How wonderful to see you here.

Your incredible kind words made me smile :)

Please let me tell you how invaluable your comment is as it furthers the discussion about self-forgiveness. You explored with detail the benefits of nurturing healthy emotions and practices as well as how through it we heal not only ourselves but the world around us.

On the other hand, when you forgive you defeat your worst possible enemy in life, YOUR OWN EGO!

I suppose that if we become more aware of this important observation you made; both forgiving others and self-forgiveness can become a more achievable goal.

Thank you once again my dear, for your truly encouraging and beautiful comment!
All the best :)

I was inspired by your great post, Abigail. But it's true...It took me around 30 years (alright, let's not count the first few years that I was an innocent toddler lol) but I finally realized that my MAIN issue in life was my inability to forgive...others and myself. The power of forgiving is INCREDIBLE!

You take care dear Abigail :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62