Photos as Therapy

in #psychology7 years ago

Photos stir up our memories. They offer a portal to the past and are the closest things to a time machine. They help cement our identities in our own minds.


Photos help cement our identities in our own minds.

The photos that have the least value, in my humble opinion, are selfies. They remind us, or should, of how self-centred we are.

The photos that have the most value are those with wonderful, warm people who are no longer around.

Photos should be stored safely for posterity and ideally digitised. Physical photo albums should ideally be stored in a cupboard with moth balls near them.

When the times in my life are tough, and I feel diffident about my capabilities, looking at an old photo album helps remind me of the story of my life and those of my family members and friends.

It reminds me of how priceless I am and that I have already had some special moments in my life.


Photos like this one remind me that I've had some fairly special moments in my life

Most photos with at least a person in them have value to somebody or some people somewhere. Some photos though are iconic. Examples include photos of anti-war demonstrators during the Vietnam war, the burning monk of Vietnam, and the Tank Man if Tieneman Square. I highly recommend googling them, not only to take a look but also to know the back-stories.

If your life is being unspectacular, go open a photo album, take a look at it, and realise that you've had some fairly memorable moments.


Go grab a photo album and relish your past memories

That's it for now. Have a great day!

Note: All images used in this post are labeled Creative Commons-0 and are from Pixabay (except the second one, which is of me). If you like my kind of content, please show your support by upvoting, commenting, and following me.

Sort:  

What a wonderful post @tintiano :) I love looking through photos as a reminder of who we really are and how much life we have already, and can still yet experience. It's what life is all about <3

Thank you, @lovea! That's a good way to sum up the article!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tintiano to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tintiano from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.03 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44