Here Comes the Pride

in #psychology7 years ago



A lot of people hate pride--it clashes with other prides usually annoyingly like the way pubic hair uncomfortably rubs on cloth that no matter how you try to re-position your undergarment, you still end up itching and frustrated. However, I think that somehow, clash of prides actually is the quintessence of human interaction. It has always been there from the moment Eve dared Adam to try the forbidden truth, to their sons fighting over their positions, and down to the chaotic politics we have, not just in the government but even in the most personal matters like sex. Our hatred for it then shows our hypocrisy in seeing or defining ourselves.


Selfishness & Our Nature


I admit to holding a lot of pride, and I think I can speak for everyone else who are in the same page as me when I say that pride is great when you have the full control over it and not when someone else hits you with their own. I personally love the power that comes with the kind or amount of pride I carry with me, for it makes people around me intimidated that I get to do everything my way when I have to work with them for instance. Given that fact, I absolutely hate it when other people clash with the type and level of pride I have. It is a huge threat to the power that my system has adapted to. It is basically a threat to my survival...

Such selfishness to consume all the power that comes with pride could always lead to a problematic interaction with someone probably provoking such pride to be even raised higher. That hypocrisy for having manifests in forms of all the aggressive things that could occur in political hearings, petty relationship arguments, or even the mildest instances where pride is dared. Still, the least we could do is adjust the outcome of this pride into a less destructive one instead of the ideal concept of a proper ego management. Our selfish and strive-for-survival nature just cannot simply allow us to force stop a working defense mechanism.


Attraction to Ego


Someone once told me that sex is just all about egos from which I picked up the idea that we could actually be more attracted to ego than all the other characteristics we like in a person. Sure, a beautiful face does entice you, yet the charm that emphasizes it that gets you officially hooked comes from pride. By charm, I don't mean the perfectly distracting dimple placed on the left cheek of this date I once had but that aura of the person that gives off his or her self-determined worth which we either accept or play with.

I believe we usually accept that worth just the way it is delivered and just play with it in our own egotistical ways. This classic clash never fails to amuse me, for we do put our sense of value of ourselves out there to take the upper hand when ironically, what comes after that is that we submit to each other's demands subconsciously. All of a sudden, it seems like there is an intersection for egos where they just stay put (well for awhile). I guess that is one of the reasons why we enjoy the whole thing so much.

Sort:  

People are attracted to others on unconscious level. That's why people tend to have certain patterns in choosing partners. For example, when someone says all of my ex-es were douches, they got to ask themself why is that so? We are usually drawn by psychopatological features in others that are similar to those we have. But these are also fluid and as we change, our unconscious cravings changes too.

A friend told me once that true humility is assuming your proper position in life, whether it be above someone or below someone.

But do we ever really know what our proper position is in this world where we're not even sure who we are, why we're here, etc.? That's why humility, as much as it does sound virtuous, doesn't quite appeal to me in a way.

The idea of 'attraction to ego' is one I play around with a lot, but never in the context of pride before. I think you'd be fascinated with this idea called SMV (Sexual Market Value). It's this idea that you have a true sexual market value, in most cases it's an arbitrary scale of 1-10, but then there's also a perceived SMV. You can raise your true SMV by doing the physical things: get into shape, hygiene, style, but you can also raise your overall perceived SMV through psychological and sociological attributes. Thanks for inspiring me to write a post on this, I hope you don't beat me to it :P

Very familiar with SMV but damn I hate scales like that. I know what I'm getting when I'm getting. That's all I need ;). Haha looking forward to reading your work!

Didn't intend to demean your knowledge.

I imagine you do, but when it gets to a point where both parties are essentially playing a high level chess game, the dynamics also change. I'd love to hear your subjective thoughts on what I come up with.

Oh, I didn't feel like you were demeaning my knowledge or anything haha no worries 😂

Ever fucked 33° SMV ? ;) Hairy as Heck <3

#PubicHairz Only Itch 4 dad furrst 3 dayz after shaving, then gettin' more an moah cozy! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45