Success and the desperate Fear of Failure

in #psychology7 years ago

Picture

Hey guys, this post will deviate from my usual content, so if you’re here for a scientific short story, you should return tomorrow when everything is back to normal. This kind of post won’t happen regularly, promised.

Those of you who already follow me have probably witnessed my success in the almost two weeks since I joined. I’m quite impressed that you like my stories so much and very happy about it. I’ve been writing stories since I could write at all and it had been my dream to earn money with it.

But dreams like this are usually not suitable to provide enough money to make a living, especially when your area of choice is fiction writing. Most authors can’t live off the money they make with their books. So when I left school, I chose the only other field that caught my interest: Biology.

Biologists don’t have good job chances but there is still more hope than for writers. My parents, especially my father, didn’t exactly celebrate, but they accepted it. At least it was science, at least their smart daughter did something with her life that might make her successful.

I’ll probably finish my degree as Bachelor of Science next year around this time. Then, my goal is to move to Ireland and get a Master’s degree. There is a program called “Immunobiology and Global Health” I’m very interested in, which might be understandable if you’ve read my posts.

But studying outside of Germany is expensive and I need to make money. The thing is, nobody needs biologists without a PhD. And I’m a horrible waitress.

I was very happy when I found steemit and thrilled when my posts took off and began to make money. And then continued to make money.

The first few days were a rush, ideas just poured out of my mind onto the screen. Researching, typing, publishing. It was all so easy. And now? I have a list of possible topics, but the excitement has stopped and was replaced by fear.

Fear of failure. Fear to disappoint. Fear that you guys will stop being entertained by my content. Fear that people will make it their goal to rip my content apart (which, in a way, already happened). Fear that my parents will be proven right and there is no future in writing for me. Fear that I actually suck.

The last thing is a known phenomenon, called the impostor syndrome. But knowing this doesn’t help against the effects.

The anxiety of failure actually eats me alive. I’m barely able to do anything I’m supposed to normally do, because every second of the day, I can only think about the next story, the next post.

I have steemit opened on my computer and my phone at the same time, fearing I’ll miss something. Constantly refreshing. It is too easy to obsess over something like this.

Like your childhood dream coming true.

I don’t want your pity or something like this, I don’t even expect any reactions. I needed to get it off my chest.

And maybe, just maybe, there are some of you who feel the same. If you’re reading this and having similar feelings, just know you’re not alone with this. Steemit is a social media site, built around the attention people give and receive. And in our society, where a person’s worth is measured by the attention they get, this can be damaging to one’s mind. And because money is included in the equation, it gets even worse.

Enough of my rambling, see you again tomorrow with the usual content, I hope you all have a good night or day, depending on where you are on this world.

The picture is, as always, taken from pixabay.com

Sort:  

For me, and I'm wondering for you and S.adventure too, the problem is that I hate everything I make.

The reason is a common one among artists across the board. During the journey of creating a piece, you have incrementally improved. So by the time the piece is finished, it's a reflection of your amateur self.

I and many others are in a perpetual state of 'urgh I can do better than that'

I don't edit and never read anything I've written because of this. I hate everything I create when confronted with it. So yes, I think I know what you mean..

Somewhat similar feelings about checking all the time. I have been able to slow it down a bit because I could tell it was adding anxiety into the mix. I figured its best to get it in check early :) btw in your last post you put @steemitadventures with an s I'm just @steemitadventure lol :)

Explains why it didn't show up as a link sigh I'll fix it tomorrow, isn't possible on the phone

Now get some sleep :)

I was wrong it is possible to edit on the phone

Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror writer Neil Gaiman wrote on his blog in May this year, that he felt he wasn't qualified to be at a gathering of scientists, writers, discoverers, artists etc.

Another person at the gathering told Neil Gaiman this:

“I just look at all these people, and I think, what the heck am I doing here? They’ve made amazing things. I just went where I was sent.”

That man was Neil Armstrong telling Neil Gaiman he felt he didn't belong.

So in other words, if an accomplished writer and the first man to walk the moon can feel imposter syndrome, then everyone can.

That doesn't mean, you're an imposter!

Neil Gaiman actually posted this story on his tumblr, it resonated a lot with me

Yep, exactly. Just didn't want to link. Didn't know if you wanted links here :P

I think it's inspiring, so I wanted to share, in case you didn't know :D

Sometimes I feel like fear of ones failures creates drive so taking it like there's two sides to a coin could probably help relieve that feeling.

My first 2 weeks here ( November last year) I had dreams every night with either earning a lot or not earning anything for my posts. From time to time that feeling and fear comes back. But we are friends now, the message is that I care and writing here is something exciting. And this is no little thing:)

Guess I just still need some time to adapt, I tend to get overly invested in stuff

I don't believe in real winning without real investment. It's just about giving it time amd put less pressure on yourself. But you already know this. Best of luck to you and may your childhood dream become real, in this form or another

Hm. Somehow waited for the moment it happens. Thought I was wrong though.

You'll find your way. Give it some time.

I am jealous on your english!

Many years of practice and the helping hand of spellcheck.

I can relate to that feeling, to be honest with you it does happen to everyone no matter the height attained. Only two things can happen, either win or fail; but building yourself to accept whatever the result would be helps. And most times it turns out to be win. You are already doing well and I wish to do it well as well.

you got a follower! :D

Always happy to entertain! :D

I'm based in Ireland so if you need any pointers on adjusting to Irish life, I'd be happy to help :) Loved this piece. People often forget about the overwhelming doubt that comes when we live life on our own terms. I work as a therapist and I know that freedom is something most people say they want, but getting it can be psychologically jarring to say the least. Congratulations on your Steemit success suesa. New follower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82