You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Success and the desperate Fear of Failure

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror writer Neil Gaiman wrote on his blog in May this year, that he felt he wasn't qualified to be at a gathering of scientists, writers, discoverers, artists etc.

Another person at the gathering told Neil Gaiman this:

“I just look at all these people, and I think, what the heck am I doing here? They’ve made amazing things. I just went where I was sent.”

That man was Neil Armstrong telling Neil Gaiman he felt he didn't belong.

So in other words, if an accomplished writer and the first man to walk the moon can feel imposter syndrome, then everyone can.

That doesn't mean, you're an imposter!

Sort:  

Neil Gaiman actually posted this story on his tumblr, it resonated a lot with me

Yep, exactly. Just didn't want to link. Didn't know if you wanted links here :P

I think it's inspiring, so I wanted to share, in case you didn't know :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62720.27
ETH 2447.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64