You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mindfulness - A Very Short Guide

in #psychology7 years ago

Definite resteem. This is incredibly useful.

The way I see it, the brain is constantly working throughout the day, on both the conscious and subconscious level. Then you do to sleep, and the brain is in overdrive once again once you dive into the dream realm.

Meditation is the only opportunity that your brain will get to rest. And like anything, after a rest, it will begin to work more efficiently.

I started it to improve my memory, as I did a fair few A class drugs in my teens and felt I damaged my brain a fair bit. It helped me with my memory, but also helped me accidentally learn to control my dreams, sleep a lot easier just like you, improved my focus and my patience and I also don't think I have been sick since more than a couple of times since I started it a good few years ago.

I'd definitely recommend it also, but it is certainly not easy when you are just starting out. Like anything, it is a skill that needs to be cultivated, so if you are going to give this a try, don't give up so easily. The benefits far outweigh the potential frustration you might have whilst learning how to do it.

Sort:  

Thank you. Yes for sure it is something that needs practice. That's why I did the course. It got me into the habit of doing it and now I can easily switch into mindfulness mode whenever I have a moment here or there or I'm waiting for something.

Yes, it becomes a lot easier once you have been doing it a while.

I can't get anywhere near as deep as I used to go, I'm guessing perhaps because of a diet change. But, when I was going very deep into meditative states, it's crazy how similar the feeling actually was to that of the A class drugs I was doing in my teens, specifically ecstasy in this case.

I think whatever chemical is induced by the drugs is naturally secreted during deep states of meditation, so it can be utterly euphoric as well as healthy for your mind and body. There's really no good reason not to be doing it..

I can't get anywhere near as deep as I used to go, I'm guessing perhaps because of a diet change

You might try doing it in a group - it seems to make it more intense for me at least.

I think whatever chemical is induced by the drugs is naturally secreted during deep states of meditation, so it can be utterly euphoric as well as healthy for your mind and body.

Yes I think so. I suspect that that the neurotransmitter profile may be quite similar to some drugs - without the side effects!

I haven't tried it in a group, but I did try it with one other person before and I just fell asleep. Definitely something I shall give a try if returning to my previous diet, which I plan to do very soon, doesn't have the desired effect.

Thanks for the advice!

Agree and thanks taking the time to shine some light on mindfulness! I was introduced to the practice a few months ago and it has been a lifesaver, to say the least. There are a lot of great ios apps too!

Yes actually I forgot to mention the apps thanks for bringing them up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87