You Are Responsible For Your Own Anxiety // PTSD // Journal

in #psychology7 years ago

melancholy-1565223_1920.jpg

I have strange, mixed feelings about the “Anxiety awareness” articles that I see pop up on the internet. I understand how debilitating and crippling anxiety can feel, how fear can ultimately ruin your life. But I feel like some of these articles takes a lot of responsibility away from the person who suffers from anxiety, and places that burden onto friends and family who just need to deal with it.

It’s difficult to see now, but I used to be at the point of being completely non-functional. I grew my hair to hide my face as a shield, and turned away as if I’d been beaten from people who tried to say hello to me. I’d cry in the bathroom of restaurants because I dreaded having to talk to the server, and hid behind the vending machine at school during lunch to avoid having to encounter anyone. It’s not an exaggeration to say that if I had not taken the steps I had to be who I am now, I would still be non-functional. I would be unable to have a partner, be intimate with other people, or hold down a job.

At one point, I’m glad these articles for anxiety awareness exist. This was only eight to twenty-four years ago and I received absolutely no help. People were not kind to me. People did not understand what was wrong with me. They pushed me, without understanding the mechanisms inside of me that made me feel like I was unable to move. I suffered a lot, because of the ignorance of other people, who thought they knew me better than myself. I lost count of the number of people who told me “You can trust me,” or “You don’t need to be afraid of me,” which made me feel even more alienated, because they lacked the basic understanding of my issues. If I had friends, I did not keep them for long, and I found more relief and peace from being alone than anything else.

I remember reading on the Internet about a man who was 50 and had never been kissed, and how much he regretted missing out on life. I was about 16 or 17 at the time, and I realized that if I continued on the path I did, if I let the fear run my life, I would never get to experience the things that I wanted to. I would drown underneath the heat of everything I wanted to do but felt I was too afraid to do.

I didn’t know much about the functions of anxiety at the time, but I knew I didn’t want it to ruin my life anymore.

And it wasn’t a magical solution. I didn’t suddenly get better. But I pushed myself, each and every day, to take the steps necessary to do the things that would make me less afraid. Sometimes to the point of heaving tears.

Every way that I have ever gotten better, with my anxiety, was a deliberate action that I chose.

Someone said to me recently… imagine someone came over and trashed your kitchen, and then left the mess for you to clean up. It’s not your fault that you invited them over, but the kitchen still has to get cleaned, and it’s up to you to do it now.

Anxiety attacks can feel debilitating. And the more you face your problems, the more severe they can be. But the mind and the body work in tandem, and if you keep showing the body, over and over again, that you are working in its benefit, that there is no benefit to crippling you, then the attacks will begin to lessen. The anxiety will begin to lessen.

The solution is not to throw your hands up, say that you have crippling anxiety, and be subject to its whim.

Even if there are days you feel as if you cannot move.

Those are the days it is most important to move.

Even if you fuck up, fail, stumble. Even if you decide that today you want to spend it in bed. Or you can’t make it to work. Or whatever thing you wanted to do, and were unable to. You analyze what went wrong, and you try again. Even if you burst into tears on your way to the supermarket. Even if you throw up in the bathroom of a party because the nausea of anxiety is so great. Each step you take that you told yourself before that you could not take is so vitally important to making yourself into the person you want to be.

The first time I held hands with a boy, I was 19 years old. It took me about three weeks to get to the point to be able to do that, after we’d started hanging out, and when we did, I cried.

I cried because of all the work I’d done to get to that point, the feeling of sheer relief, that I was not so broken that I couldn’t touch another human being.

But it was years of work. Just to be able to hold someone’s hand. It’s difficult to explain to other people just how incredibly difficult that was for me, all the thought processes and analyses I had to get through, all the sheer panic and pain that bubbled up over years to cover me in layers of separation.

And to compare that to who I am now, they often think I’m exaggerating or have a poor idea of myself when I say just how terrible I’ve been at being a functional human being.

Did I magically get better because I wanted to be better? No, because anxiety follows the laws of logic as much as anything else. You don’t get something by wanting it, you get it by understanding it, and coming up with a plan of action to get better.

It’s funny to me, the people who have known me in the last few years, who have told me that I’m really good at giving presentations, talking through a design, or who say they can’t tell that I’m anxious, or that I seem to be fairly functional. They think it’s purely a perception issue on my part, sometimes, they have no idea how much I’ve struggled to get to the point to be able to do any of those things.

So yes, anxiety is very real. And if we knew how to properly deal with it, and get treatment, and work through it, instead of beating people up for it, we could get people to get better, faster.

But the solution is never to feel like you are powerless against it, or to force other people to deal with it because you don’t want to.

Because you’re not powerless, if you choose not to be.

12795346_10208939373385283_2439419767817878919_n.jpg
Follow me on twitter, facebook, or on my website. You can also buy my books here
Stock photo from Pixabay
Self portrait by me canon t51

Some of my other posts you may be interested in:
Notes For A Young Horror Writer [Writer's Journal]
[Short Story] Job Requirements For The Destroyer of Worlds
What Separates A Good Writer From An Excellent One?
The Things You Love Will Find Their Way Back To You [Writer's Journal]
[Poem] I Think One Day You Will Disappear

Sort:  

This post is so well written. My significant other, one of my sons and my best friend all struggle with anxiety. I think that a support system is helpful. However, I do agree that is ultimately up to the individual to move out of their comfort zone. My son is only 9 and is very choosy about who he interacts with, it took me a couple years to realize that this just who he is. He doesn't make small talk with strangers, he doesnt order food at a restaurant and this is all ok. He does not have to be like me to function in society. Thanks for sharing.

A support system can be helpful - I've had issues in the past because a lot of people misunderstand or don't understand its severity, so I have isolated myself for the most part. However if I had to choose I would choose a loving and understanding family over an ignorant one. I may not have even had these problems in the first place if I wasn't punished so severely for them.

Your son sounds a lot like me - there are 5 major personality traits that scientists have found are mainly set at birth and don't change much over the course of a person's lifetime. These 5 personality traits have even been seen in animals like jellyfish and dogs, one being introversion<-->extraversion. Shyness can be overcome, and you can modify yourself somewhat, but for most people if they are born introverted they remain that way for most of their lives. Definitely not a bad thing though - introverts can get a lot of poetry written. ;)

He is super smart, which unfortunately further alienates him from his classmates. He has had a few panic attacks at school, and the school staff is unfortunately untrained or unwilling to recognize them and defuse them. I hope that he always knows that I am forever on his team.

Having a supporting mother makes a lot of difference. I'm sorry that your school is so ill-equipped to handle it - a lot of places just don't know how to adequately handle children that are different.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Responsibility is an important concept that has been lost in some families. Therefore making folks with any sort of malady (brain, body, or spirit) a "whoa is me" type issue.

Your story is beyond helpful to those that have not had their eyes opened as of yet. And thank you for reminding me to add "responsibility" to my course development list.

Sure thing, repost away.

I suffered from anxiety for all of my teens and most of my adult life. I finally opted for medication, which helped me tremendously. I always just lived with the anxiety--I still functioned, kept down a job, had a few friends, etc, but I never really felt full relief until the Zoloft. I know many people are opposed to medications for mental health issues, and I'm not recommending it for you, but for me it was life-changing.

I don't really like the idea of "trigger warnings," which is where I thought this post was going. I agree that you have to desensitize yourself to the things that make you anxious, and those feelings should not be ignored by others, but the world also shouldn't bend to the whims of the anxious.

Personally I've tried many medications for both anxiety and depression over the years. Prozac, welbutrin, lexapro, klonopin, xanax, marijuana. I was desperate for relief, but I've found in my research that medications for my particular source of anxiety (PTSD) are generally ineffective or may cause more problems. They'd provide temporary relief but I'd eventually backslide, as I wasn't dealing with the core issue causing the anxiety. I wouldn't consider myself depressed anymore, and my anxiety about things like people has definitely gone down, as I addressed why I had that anxiety in the first place. But I also know people who have lingering anxiety that is more of a body thing, or a part of their physiology. (From what I've seen.) It just depends.

Trigger warnings are ultimately ineffective. Triggers are personal, for one, and a certain phrase or scent can trigger someone. That's impossible to really avoid unless you know that person's individual composition. Secondly, avoiding what hurts you emotionally is never really going to be the solution.

You are so very strong and brave! I admire the progress you have made. The world needs to see and understand more struggles just like yours. This perspective is an eye-opener and useful for anyone who needs to look at and re-examine their views on anxiety and PTSD. <3

And to compare that to who I am now, they often think I’m exaggerating or have a poor idea of myself when I say just how terrible I’ve been at being a functional human being.

I totally hear you. Every day we have a chance to be a better version of ourselves. It's easier to say but, we are all work in progress...

Thanks for sharing.

As someone who suffers from anxiety, I felt offended by the title at first, but when I read on you made a lot of sense and your post was very engaging. I put myself in that position and ended up agreeing with a high percentage of points you made. For example I only developed anxiety about three years ago out of the blue. Looking back I think I was always somewhat anxious, but I channelled my energy in different ways. Humour for example. So you're right; if it is a mild form of anxiety it can be controlled, but if you let it, it can take over your entire life.

You are a very talented writer. Keep them coming :-)

I can understand why at first glance it'd seem like an offensive statement - but I want people to know that they have all the power. It's not their "fault" they have anxiety, but they alone are responsible for its management. It's a difficult thing to hear. So many times I just wish someone would take care of me and mother me - but I'm a 27 year old woman, so that option isn't available to me.

It was very well written and the title did it's purpose; to entice me to click on it. Having said that I'm glad I did. It's always nice to read about fellow sufferers who are fighting to overcome anxiety, showing that psychology can play a huge factor into how bad it can affect people...

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57171.31
ETH 3134.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26