You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Here's what happens when you tell the police you were abused as a child - Part One

in #psychology7 years ago

Wow. This is just... I can't find the words.
It takes someone that has gone through the experience to understand how not to ask these questions. To them, they're only just doing their job (to make you feel bad because it's not like they'd have done anything if you reported earlier).

Sort:  

Thanks for reading :)

I agree. I'm a long way down the road of recovery, so I was fairly resilient in the face of the questions I was asked, but I can imagine that many survivors would be deeply hurt and confused by the way that the police deal with these crimes.

Of course, in a place like the UK, the entire society is in collusion with the abusers (through enabling or denying); and the systems of 'justice', including the police, will be dysfunctional.

This is, sadly, both a symptom and a cause of the repeating cycles of trauma in a culture that abuses its children on a massive scale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68