So Tired After Switch to Daylight Saving Time

in #psychology6 years ago

So tired after switch to daylight saving time

You could argue that I shouldn't be.

After all, I don't have to get up and go to work or bring kids to school or anything.

I can go to bed and get up when I want.

Still, the switch to daylight saving time affects me.

Sindore

We've changed the setting on our watches, like everybody else. So even though I could theoretically sleep an hour later and go to bed an hour later, I don't. I get up around 6am as usual. My dog nags me around 9am, 11am, 1pm, and 4pm as usual. (Okay, she also nags me between those times.

So even though I theoretically could pretend that nothing had changed, then unconscously, when I check the time, I see that it's one hour later.

And then I hurry up and get up, or I make breakfast, or I walk the dog.

Sindore

Is There Anything Gained by Using Daylight Saving?

A lot of people say no. On the contrary. What we save in electricity, because we don't need to have the light on just as early, we spend on other things, because of the jet-lag we infuse ourselves with.

Not even mentioning all the programming issues it causes.

I envy those who live in Hawaii, because they don't use daylight saving times.

I hope the rulers will see how annoying this is and let us have the time we're naturally supposed to have.

Sort:  

I believe that what we save on lighting is negligible. Most of our electricity is used to run things that didn't exist years ago. I wish they would do away with it also.

Congratulations @sindore! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57810.33
ETH 2939.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70