Does being happy need a reason?

in #psychology7 years ago

Katherina is overwhelmed with joy. Finally, she got the job! After years of years working as a junior research assistant, senior research assistant, associate professor. Now, with only being 42 years old, she got the promotion!

Someone knocked her door. It is Alex, the professor she replaced.

"Congratulations, you got it" Alex smiled.

"Thank you, I could not do it without you" Katherina offered him a glass of wine.

"So, why did you quit?" Katherina asked her ex-boss.

Alex starred at her and replied "Are you happy?"

"Sorry?"

"Do you think you are happy?" he asked her again.

"I got the job, so I am quite happy right now"

"You know, Kate. I used to think like you right now. My happiness was based on things I pursued. The more difficult those things are, the harder I work. With a simple assumption that if I finally get what I want, I will be happier than before"

Alex put his glass on the table.

"But unfortunately, it was never the case. I got my PhD in 3 years. It was an outstanding achievement. Some professors offered me jobs. Then in my late 30 I became a professor. I had many projects, long lists of publications, great people like you working for me. My career as a scholar cannot be brighter. But I was not happy. In fact, the more I got, the more I want. Ambition, Kate is like fire. The more you feed them, the more they need food" Alex silent.

Katherina stunned. After a while, she asked him. "So now you dont like people with ambition"

"I still like you, even though you are full with ambition. I just think, I dont want myself to be part of that circle anymore"

"What circle?"

fuel.jpg
"The circle of dissatisfaction. There is no end of research. People seek, try to find an answer. After they get it, they find a new problem. We compete to find the truth. The truth is interesting, Kate. Sometimes, no one can reveal it. And sometimes, everyone just find it. However, from different perspectives. So, if someone said he holds the only truth that exists, you know for sure he lies"

Katherina starred at Alex. In his late 40, he is still young and handsome. Alex does not have a partner or a family. "I dont have time for that, I have a job" he said few years ago when Katherina got married.

"So, what will you do now?"

"I dont know. I have money, time and I am single. What do you think I shall do?" he asked with naughty smile in his face.

"Seriously Alex"

"I have no idea, Kate. I may sell my house and travel. Or sell my house and buy a farm. Do you have other ideas?" Alex smiled again.

"I never saw you with that kind of smile" Katherina starred at him.

"I am happy now, Kate"

"Why?"

"I dont know. Do you think being happy needs a reason?"

"I think so"

"Then you cannot be happy. Happiness is not a consequences. It is a choice. You choose to be happy, you will be happy. You choose not to, then you wont. That is the reason why many poor people can laugh but many rich men cannot. Happiness is the cheapest and in the same time the most expensive thing in the world"


Pict from: https://beatnomad.files.wordpress.com

"I may get divorced soon" Katherina finally said it.

"I am so sorry. I did not know...."

"He wants a child, I dont. We should choose our own path. I think I can be like you, single, hard working and -I thought- you are happy. How can I be happy, Alex?" Katherina sadly asked.

"Just be happy, Kate. There is no rules, methods or formulas. Just be happy and dont let anything or anyone prevent you of being happy. Happiness is a choice, not a result. You dont need a reason to be happy......"


Pict from: http://thoughtmedicine.com

Are you Katherina, or are you Alex? Let me know!

Sort:  

expensive thing in the world very good information.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes definitely

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Congratulations @shally.novita! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63476.24
ETH 2487.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68