What Is Skin Orgasm And How To Have One?

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Has it ever happened to you? You are listening to a moving piece of music and suddenly chills run up your spine. The hair on your arms and shoulders tickle with goosebumps.

This is called frisson and it's a French word meaning "aesthetic chills" or as some like to call it "skin orgasm", as waves of pleasure run all over the skin.

IMG_3626.JPG

piloerection (goosebumps), the physical part of frisson, source

Emotions play a major role in this complex process and emotionally charged music is the most common trigger. But not only music can make you hairs stand. Looking at a great piece of artwork, watching a movie, reading a book or even touching another person can release frisson.

Roughly two thirds of the world's population can have frisson. Let's find out why.

For the last 50 years scientists have been trying to unlock the secret how this process occurs, by tracking how people react emotionally to unexpected stimuli in their environment, stressing on music as the easiest way to trigger frisson. Musical arrangements that include surprising and unexpected shifts in notes, dynamics or just have kick-ass moments are the most common triggers for frisson. They violate the listeners' expectations in a positive way, making a strong emotional and physical reaction.
Science is still having a hard time figuring out why this phenomenon occurs in the first place.
Some suggest that goosebumps are an evolutionary holdover from the time when our ancestors were hairier. Keeping themselves warm through endothermic layer to keep the heat under the hairs on their skin. After a sudden change in temperature, like a cold breeze your hair raises up for a moment to keep the heat. The theory suggests that even after we invented clothing to keep us warm, the psychological structure is still taking place, producing the aesthetic chills.
Listeners who experience frission also score high on a personality trait called Openness to Experience. These people usually have an active imagination, seek new experiences, find beauty in nature and often reflect deeply on their feelings and life. Some traits are inherent like appreciation of beauty and others are cognitive such as imagination and intellect. It turns out that those who intellectually immerse themselves in the music, experience frission more often and intensely than others who just let the music flow over them.

I'm sharing with you this amazing live performance by Moloko that gives me the goosebumps every time I play it. I encourage you to share with us your most memorable song that makes your hair stand.

-

Join Steemit SlavChat @ discord.me/steemitslavchat

-

Sort:  


I know what you are talking about

Great music choice @rossenpavlov! I also love Moloko! Have You heard their this year's performance in Novi Sad at the Exit Festival? I was there and it was amazing! Wish You all the best, Andreja

I will check it out, thanks.


This song makes my hair stand, I just need to listen carefully. :)

You should look for ASMR too

Will check it out, thanks.

So cool, I've learned something new. Doing a little digging I found that there is a dedicated Reddit channel for this: https://www.reddit.com/r/Frisson/

I saw it, but I prefer not to promote Reddit on Steemit :)

Darude - sandstorm gets me every time!

Hah really? You must have some nice memory with this track.

For the musical part, I only get them when i listen to song with lyrics that affect me, never experienced a melody that make me have them.

BTW I can't stand ASMR, total opposite effect.

I guess it's different for everyone.

Interesting, thanks for sharing. I have never even thought about why you get goosebumps.

Oh wow, that video of Moloko is amazing! I've heard the song many times, but this performance makes something entirely different of it. Maybe that's exactly what causes the frisson? You know how the music is supposed to sound, so you're expecting certain notes and sounds, but they keep slightly changing what you should be expecting..

I'll look for some examples where I experienced frisson but this rendition of Bring it Back is now one of them.

Edit: here's one:

I can think of many songs, but I rather see want steemians will share.

I added one but it's not showing up on eSteem.. is it there? Anyway here's another one that always manages to hit me in the right spot. Might not be for everyone though:

That's great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55