¿Do you wonder? How people perceive you when you talk, without previously knowing you closely inside and out.

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Indeed, this is a question that I have been asking myself for a long long time. Well, actually since the mid-90s when all this impersonal massive worldwide online communications started.

In my case, it has always called powerfully my attention my extreme difficulty to get comments, opinions and feedback about what I communicate and intend to communicate. Either written or oral. Since the ancestral times of anonymous & impersonal interactions from the distance through ancient online services like BBSs, Newsgroups, Forums, IRC, IM apps, etc. Obviously more recently, also through personal blogs, popular media outlets websites, social media platforms and better stop counting. :)

I really dunno, at least not in a precise way. How people perceives me through what I write and in the way that I usually express my way of thinking. I don't have the remotest idea of the picture, image or the little movie that people project in their head about what I could be and I must looks like. Yes, perhaps I tend to be very exhaustive and illustrative in my comments, opinions, explanations and general content. And this probably leaves little space to add anything else to the conversation. But, these poor results in obtaining feedback must always and eternally be the same?

Many times I have the feeling that when I share what I think publicly. Either through an article, a post or a thoughtful and long commentary out there, people stay as if I had given them the present below as a Christmas gift.

They seems to just don't know how to react to that. And they prefer to remain silent. Leaving me always on the embers without know anything else anymore.

Around eight months ago I wrote a post in which I already touched the topic and I talked a lot about this issue. Even going so far as to describe in detail a big part of my curious history online.

Yes, no need to say that regardless this post has got barely 25 views in its entire life, I was fortunate enough to obtain a highly revealing and insightful comment from my good friend @denmarkguy. Yeah! only one comment. And I must confess, that this comment came after I kindly and expresally invited him to comment. Otherwise crickets would sounds all around that post. Tsk Tsk

Therefore, I invite you to shed some light on this matter. Sharing your opinions, knowledge and experiences.

  • ¿Has some of this also been happening to you at some point before?

  • ¿Is always splatting away your thoughts clearly, eloquently, coherently, without ambiguity, trying hard to leave no place to misunderstandings, double messages and/or possible confusions since you always put the right effort to be as illustrative and perhaps until the extreme to be so didactically audiovisual minded with your carefully chosen words as much as you can on all your endeavors?

  • ¿Is this in and of itself a de facto conversation killer which defeats discussion and further exchange of ideas?

Yes, I go back and I repeat it. Comments and feedback is the most precious value for us authors. The most ambitious prize to obtain for our efforts creating original quality content on public platforms. In our attempt to spawn inspiration, share KnowHow and knowledge, create awareness and generate value from it.

Drop a comment on someone's article is free and obviously cheaper than an upvote. This will not cost you a single penny. Evidently, this will only take a few minutes of your time to read what has been written in order to know what to say and comment accordingly.

But.. ¿How comes it has been always so elusive and hard to me get some of these pearls?

I must confess that according what the title of this post says in that bit: "without previously knowing you closely inside and out" I almost fell into the temptation to upload a photo of me to let you know me closer and better. And consequently, stop judging me only by what I say or write. But yeah, I guess I'd better leave that for another occasion when you're less scared. }:)

Instead, as a kind of my customary 'Abstract Aural Bits' with which I usually finish most of my articles. On this opportunity, I'd wish to invite you to listen this tune below by clicking on the image. Although it is not a visual representation of me, about how I look in person. I suspect that you will never get a greater and closer approximation to what I really am. Because after the great deal with all the time, effort, soul and heart that I dedicated to the creation of this song. I assure you that my identity and personality is fully stamped, depicted and expressed through it from beginning to end. Since from the slow cadence and mysterious melody and beats at the start all along through the gradually wildest nuances at the end. This song tell tons about who I really am. :)

Boogapalooza

Leave a comment. Share your experiences and feedback. ¡Be part of the conversation!

Then, are you now willing to comment and say something on this post?

«««-$-»»»

"Follows, Comments, Resteems & Upvotes will be highly appreciated"

Cranky Gandalf

Cheers!! :)

Sort:  

I think there are several reasons.

  • people are trained to shout into the void, not listen to what comes out

  • their view is pretty much all that is cared about so why consider others

  • if it requires too much thought, forget about it

  • smart phones are handy for twitter, terrible for long form

  • most have low imagination so without being fed, they will not do the work to eat.

Yep mate. I know pretty well where you come from too. Transiting these dusty roads of life driving a vehicle with a tank full with fuel of high octane eloquence and tires inflated with pure air of plentiful coherence. You are onto something right there in your summary without any doubt.

Thus, knowing the acute and keen observer that you are. I suppose that among many other little things that could be added to your very precise observation. Those of us who always take the time, without haste, to explain things exhaustively with a good chunk of maps, little cartoons and long and detailed annotations with overflowing crystal clear long form logic, rationality and congruence... those things my dear friend, those things have no place to fit on nowadays short attention span pinheads nor easy or adequate to be captured and appreciated thru tiny tech gadgets with so scarce real estate to deploy the reflective and thoughtful feedback beyond 140 characters that we are eagerly expecting. :)

On other hand, and as a way to conclude my message on this reply to you. I will quote an excerpt of a recent comment I got from @deaconlee in my other ancient post which might illustrate further the other side of the coin explaining why those who talk and express themselves clearly with lengthy descriptive speeches and long-ass format written discourses, usually find this so hard gaining feedback from their dreadful, threatening & frightening babbling.

It is possible that you could be considered dangerous in some cultures. Killing is killing right? What you are really doing then is ending the life of a thought process, and for all we know in another dimension that process was a living breathing cognizant being!

I agree with that. I'm no doubt a splendid mind hacker and merciless thoughts killer perpetually trying to forge awareness at every chance. So, go figure!! }:)

You are not alone in your perception that few listen, few comment, and even less upvote. Wait.... I see you have 257 upvotes on this post. Is that even possible in the world of physics? Do you exist in another dimension where people understand the purpose of the little green arrow within a circle? Is this string theory or brane theory? I must know. Anyway, no..no one can ever know us, few will think they do an most will fail. Know thyself, Grasshopper.

Thank you for your well appreciated comment @crystalize. :)

Yep dear! 257 upvotes and only 58 views in a two months timeline. ¿Doesn't that sounds paradoxically marvellous in the quantum physics realms and the game of social networks?

Is this string theory or brane theory? I must know.

Well, I suspect it's both you mentioned, far beyond and all the theories that are still to come. Tsk Tsk

But being me a very ancient Time Traveller I will reveal you the real thesis behind these uncanny upvotes results.

The awful & naked truth is.. that you only get those bulky upvote figures that never correspond to the physical number of views. Only when you join to some groups, guilds & trails on discord or https://steemit.chat and by own request you drop the link of your posts out there, so that they vote it blind, with ludicrous low percent VP votes and without reading them.

Therefore, no surprise you won't gather any yummy comments or feedback at all. You see? as the mysteries of physics are not always as intricate as sometimes it seems? }:)

What are these mysterious guilds, groups and trails of which you speak? Do they require amulets and fealty? I refuse to believe such heresy until thyne facts are presented for my consideration..

Yep darling! actually they Do require amulets, esoteric coven and strict rituals of fealty. ;)

But I'll explain and show you that in detail another day. Because right now, in my neck of the woods, Morpheus is seducing me hard to take me to bed before the sun rises in just a few minutes. }:)

Take the blue pill.

Haha yeah @crystalize! I chopped them (Red & Blue) in pieces and mixed them both together. Then I got a newer violet, purple or lilac kinda pill. I'm still awaiting to see what the effects are after having ingested it. }:)

As for the explanation about those hermetic brotherhoods and arcane rituals within those mysterious guilds, groups and trails I've mentioned before. I'm thinking in writing an entire post about the subject, to uncover the mystery further and allow more people gain some awareness about the topic.

¿Do you have the patience to wait until I write it down?

Heh. You imply that I can sit still for two seconds. It is a tricksey falsehood that I convey. LOL. In all realities (plural intended) I would be most interested in such a post.

I would be most interested in such a post.

Marvelous!! and if you can't sit still for more than two seconds.. I could send you one of my new lilac pills to help you a bit with that. }:)

Interesting post! Thank you very much for sharing. :)

Haha thank you very much for your upvote and appreciated comment @superstar2018. I'm glad you found this post interesting.

Now, I just will await for you a bit longer sitting here with a razor in hand to shave my beard until you come back here again and throw me some feedback about why you find this post interesting. LoL

Btw, ¿Is it still in force that only single women are allowed into your spaceship? :)

Hey, my sexual orientation has not changed. Sadly, it's biology - nothing can be done about it!
And I hate interfering with nature, like going for surgery, etc.
But yes, I am a bit more serious about Steemit now than enjoying with single women inside my spaceship. ;)

Well, I never wanted to suggest that biology should change. But.. ¿Why just single women? The married, divorced, widowed, MILFs, etc. ¿They don't deserve that you play them a fraction of a lottery ticket also? LoL }:)

Haha, O.K. I never wanted to fight their current partners or create jealousy you know.
It's a peaceful spaceship. No bloodshed allowed.

Ah! now I understand better. Your women tastes fly beyond the visible horizon. But as you say, bloodsheds are much of a burden to carry for a peaceful hummingbird. :)

Yes, you got it right finally! :D

BoogaPalooza......Hmmmm! Bit messy 😜😋
Really nice to meet You!

Hahaha, Bit messy, just same as others use to define me. ¿You see? 😜

If I were been able to collect just a single dime every time I've heard someone referring to me like that, frankly, I would be billionaire right now. LoL

I hope you've enjoyed my BoogaPalooza 'personality' dear. Nice to meet You too @mammasitta. :)

Oh! and thank you very much my dear @mammasitta for your support, welcome comment & follow and above all, your very appreciated upvotes & resteem. ¡A ton of Thanks darling!

Cheers!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84