You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In Defense of "Permissive" Parenting; Children are Human Too

in #psychology8 years ago

I always look at parenting in this light: my child did not ask to be here, she did not ask to be created vulnerable and dependent, nor did she choose me as a parent. Since I forced these things upon her, I have a positive obligation towards her.
For those who say you must enforce boundaries, I would say you must first negotiate the boundaries. I negotiate everything with my children. It actually makes parenting easier in the long run since if they want to step outside the negotiated boundaries or scope of our agreement, I can point out that this was something that we came to an agreement on and if they can break agreements with me, then I can break agreements with them since we are equal human beings. This either gets them to honor our agreement or at least sit down to renegotiate our agreement, which maybe appropriate. Our negotiated bed time at 8 years old may not be that time when she is 10 or if it is the weekend or summertime or special occasion.

Thank you @sterlinluxan for your posts on parenting. We need more of this outreach.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28