You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 29 |The Architecture of Sustainable Happiness – Positive Psychology

in #psychology7 years ago

Being an extrovert leads to enhanced social relationships through networking, which leads to a satisfaction that can be equated with happiness. However, the opposite may not always be true - that introverts may have a degree of unhappiness due to being less social(or not social at all). Introverts may like solitude and that too brings about happiness in many individuals.

Another significant determinant of subjective well-being is work satisfaction, and this is not directly related with the pay-check; it is rather related with work content and healthy relationship with colleagues.

You're so right about this! A person may feel ecstatic after a promotion or a hefty pay raise but the happiness goes back to the base level - which is correlated with work satisfaction and the environment at the workplace.

I was reading a book, The How of Happiness by Sonja Lyubomirsky, in which she also writes that the set point cannot be changed but the happiness levels can be altered with the help of several induced factors. There are quite a few of them but you've summed it up with details quite well.

Further, in positive psychology, forgiveness is not solely about that person who has hurt you. It is also about forgiving yourself for a past wrongdoing.

This is so important, sometimes even more important than forgiving others, especially if a person holds himself/herself responsible for something serious.

This exercise asks participants to, just before they go to sleep, recall their day and pinpoint three things that went well for them, or that they felt grateful for.

I can fully attest to the benefits of this exercise - I have been doing it for the past two months(using an app on my smartphone, which has a reminder to make me do it!) and it has made me feel much better.

But, if you notice it is partly because, in their new life, they have embraced a cause, became charitable, and even don’t take things for granted anymore.

True that. I'll add to it and say that a person with a giving nature will feel much more happiness than others.

The naysayers of positive psychology are very harsh indeed.

The sceptics and naysayers, I think, are non-believers who need to read this article a few times more than others!

As usual, a great post! Keep them coming!! :-)

Sort:  
I can fully attest to the benefits of this exercise - I have been doing it for the past two months(using an app on my smartphone, which has a reminder to make me do it!) and it has made me feel much better.

Oh my! How smart!! :) In one of your posts you told us about the app Calm. Is this the same one? I just find so incredible the way you bring technology and well-being together @maxabit!

Your last statement made my lauugh! Ahahah ...

All the best to you my dear :)

Calm is an app used to help in meditation - but I don't need to use an app for it because I can do it naturally most of the time. For this exercise, I use an app called Coach.me which has this feature of setting reminders, and that helps in case I forget.

There are apps for just about everything now so it is only fair that I link technology with wellness.

You have very sharp memory indeed because I wrote that post a while ago!

I also appreciate the way you respond to every comment in such detail - you're a role model for Steemit users. When I want to coach newbies on how to go about acknowledging comments, especially when they have quite a few, I will point them to your blog. :-)

OH! Thank you @maxabit!! You are awesome :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76