Mini Motivation #11 - You owe it to your friends and family to become better

in #psychology7 years ago

There will come a time when you look at the people around you, and realised that as a group, all of you haven't change that much.

You drink at the same pubs, party at the same joints, eat at the same few places, and draw even the same salary. And you observed that the rest of the world has move on, and deep down, you know collectively, you're left behind.

For things to change, you have to change.

But change ain't always easy, so here are a few little changes that are simple enough for everyone, and who knows? It could be the change that you need right now.

  1. Use a different route to work
  2. Order something different for lunch
  3. Choose a different weekend activity - go fishing, random road trips, pick up an online course at Udemy or volunteer at a home
  4. Sleep at a different time
  5. Watch a movie from a different genre
  6. Wake up early and go for a walk around the neighborhood
  7. Cut down coffee by one cup
  8. Start enjoying green tea
  9. Take the stairs instead of a lift
  10. Talk to an intern
  11. Start a conversation with a stranger in the lift
  12. Say good morning/thank you to someone you normally won't

You probably can think of a few more little things. Remember, don't attempt the big stuff; just the small ones will do.

Do enough of these, and you'll realise that you'll gradually improve for the better, and the others around you may just follow suit too.

Sometimes all we need is just a leader to show us what's possible. Will you be that leader today?

Mini Motivation is my own daily strategy to inspire myself. Mostly 3 minute reads.

From Motivation, we gain Inspiration. From Inspiration, we achieve Momentum. And the rest, they say, is history.

Hope it helps nudge you a bit too in the right direction.

Oh it did? Let me know in the comments, and of course an upvote would be a nice motivation for me. :)

Stay awesome!


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD7, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

Thank you @maverickfoo. you are always on point and your post always gets me fired-up. This post reminds me of a popular quote by Jim Rohn where he said: "If you don't like the way things are, change it, you are not a tree"

I am @geekis, I blog about #marriageandrelationship

That's a great quote. I shall remember it :)

Yes, make little change keeps your mind aware and break the daily routine.

Keeps us alive!

Thanks for the motivational post.. For things to change we have to change for better, for you to be a leader that shows someone what's possible, you have to be an element of change too.. Keep this flowing@maverickfoo

Hoi friends. Good morning nice pic

Thanks and this is lovely 😊

Sage words i feel inspired!!! Thanks for this one @mavericfoo

@maverickfoo, this is good information for me, how to blogging and writing, i am focus in psychology article, support and motivate me, i will be the good writer

Love your mini motivation! :)

Stay healthy and alive, and render a small help to people around you, that shall already make a difference.

I love this, @maverickfoo. Your writing has deep clarity and purpose. I’m following you because I want to be better, for myself but more importantly, for those that I love.

One intentional change that I need to make is that I have max 2 cups of coffee a day. I know caffeine is undoubtedly affecting my sleep but addictions die hard 😆

One change that I have made this New Year is I picked up a part time job as a barista. This does NOT help my first problem lol, but it’s been good for me to learn a new skill and develop new relationships outside my partner and I. I’ve traded my Netflix and oversleeping time to do something productive and I don’t think I’ll regret it. Plus the added bonus is I am managing my “spare” time more intentionally.

I’ll be following you for more, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43