You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mindfulness Monday - Everything's wrong every time

in #psychology6 years ago

Thank you for this post; I too find that writing helps...the positivity challenge I'm doing now has made me think of several different things that I hadn't really thought too much on before. And I must have missed the memo, but I had no idea you suffered from PTSD; I'm sorry for that.

My son suffers from anxiety and depression and is just now learning that it's ok. It has been and I'm sure will continue to be, a rough go for him for while.

I can control my thoughts about it afterwards and look for what happened to take steps for it not to happen again.

That's really it right? We can't control anything or anyone around us, but we can control how we react to all of it.

Sort:  

You're are very welcome @lynncoyle1 <3 Yeah my ex was a tad abusive, so when people yell or insult or belittle me, I sometimes lose myself. Thankfully the physical was minor, but he played major games with my head.
As it's 'termed' I am 'high-functioning' isn't that horrible :P I can be legally declared disabled, but because I have a brain that even though it plays tricks on me at times, it's too smart to know to act dumb. I get turned down. It's ok though I've learned enough to be able to do more than exist. Too many years like that. Now each day , each moment for that matter is new. If something happens. I do one of my exercises, don't dwell on what happened and move forward.

The anxiety and depression suck too. At least he has someone telling him that it's normal. Because it is. Just like the 'dark thoughts' they're normal too, it is how we deal with them. That's the hard part, when you're in that low point nothing seems possible. Once he gets some of the coping skills down it will help. If he needs ideas ...let me know I spent 20 yrs with doctors telling me 'use your coping skills' I even looked at one and said 'I don't have a tamborine.' That was the only skill I had been taught to channel my energy a different direction.

I might look into the positivity challenge, I think @wolfhart did it but didn't nominate anyone :D

Now that I have written another complete post LOL . I am heading to bed :D

Thank you for this post and comment To @lynncoyle1

My trust level of people on a scale of 1-10 is a neg gazillion . I am told that I need to work on it . I don't think so . It has worked for me .
The written word is hard for me and even harder to understand . There is no body language to incorporate . So the meaning of things can be misunderstood . Especially in my case . I have meet people here that have made me smile . The number of them I find amazing . I never thought that that would happen .

There also are some shitheads here . far and few inbetween . Them I have a problem with because I have no way to deal with them other then ignore or flag . Lord I find that funny . If your a dumbass and enter my world I have many lets say discouraging techniques available .

Like I said thanks for the post and comment
Stay strong . You are stronger and have more skills then you think :)

ooohh yea I leave contest open for any to join instead of limited to only people I would nominate

As you can imagine my trust level isn't where it should be either. The downfall is I've been too trusting to believe the people will do the right thing. Then of course when you go to far one way you the complete opposite, so I've learned to just take my time.

There are a few people that instinctually I was drawn to 2 of those people are @lynncoyle1 and @briancourteau. I feel like I've known them for years. I understand they dynamic of their relationship, because mine is close to the same way. So responding to either one is like responding to a brother or sister. LOL I get more support from them than I do my own brother (hes' off on his planet with his life)

I ignore the shitheads. No time for them in my life. I did have to be nice to one recently due to circumstances. It's over and done :P .

And you're very welcome :) I think you're learning. I don't have a pretense, I'm just me. I made that pledge to myself when I started. The only part I told myself, was I would keep my anger under control. Thank you for believing in me, I truly appreciate it.

@lynncoyle1 and @briancourteau are great people . I don't understand how one can be a montreal canadian fan unless you are forced , possessed or a girl is involved. you go @briancourteau ;)

@wolfhart hahahaha could be worse...could be the Avalanche 😎

@tryskele OOOohhhhh lordie not the Avalanche .ROFL I'm an old Flyers fan . 🏒

@wolfhart LOL at least it's not the Redwings 😆

@tryskele That's true . I have never routed for the redwings but have for the avalanche

haha thanks for the post @tryskele! But seriously, thank you for the 'history'. The tamborine killed me

I'm happy to nominate you in the challenge if you'd like. Just say the word and I'll put it in my next one. I will complete the 7 days, but it may take me a month haha

@lynncoyle1 LOL I'll just snag @wolfharts 'open' invitation...shame I couldn't (well I could ) tag him again in it 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67546.21
ETH 3785.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56