You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spanking Children is an Unconscious Act of Vengeance

in #psychology8 years ago

This is a very emotional topic for many people. We have default programming from our childhood, and can't stray from it unless it creates obvious pain. My wife and I were spanked. Our entire community at the time of our first child encouraged spanking. We started out with spanking, and it was tearing me apart. After watching the bomb in the brain series and listening to 70+ podcasts on philosophical parenting, we had to make a change. Preparing children for the future via coercive force just ensures the world remains violent. There are other tools available such as non-violent communication, and it's our job as parents to learn them. We have to break the cycle of violence.

Thanks for spreading the good word, @sterlinluxan.

Sort:  

Super well said, Luke. I appreciate your input and thoughts. You add a lot of value to the compassionate community and here on Steemit. Glad to have you.

Thanks Sterlin. I'm glad to have you here because I've been missing all your great Psychological Anarchist content the last few weeks I've been ignoring Facebook. :)

I don't blame you for ignoring Facebook. This is an addictive and important platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40