Could it be autism?

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Everything has changed; Nothing has changed.

That's how my diagnosis felt like. In the end, I was and am still the same person, but having an explanation for the problems I face in daily life is really liberating.
Before I came to the conclusion that ASD might be a realistic diagnosis though, I had a long journey.

My first major problems emerged in high school. I started to stay at home. At first I told myself that this was my decision, that I want to stay home because school is useless anyway. At some point it seemed like even if I really tried, I couldn't accomplish anything in life. I missed almost two third's of my school years, but I managed to graduate thanks to the good grades I got in the rare occasions I was actually there.

Soon after I got 18 years old I moved out to live together with my best friend - one of the best decisions I have made in my life. But that also meant that I now need money. I went through 3 jobs in the span of a few months, always getting fired due to me being overwhelmed by the work.
My private life wasn't much better, but I was lucky to always have had honest friends. I've never been in a real relationship to this point of my life.

The assumption


I concluded by some self-diagnosing that there is something mentally wrong, but no mental illness seemed to solve the equation. I went from depression to sociopathy to social anxiety to OCD to depression. Only a few months ago I saw a presentation by Tony Attwood, a renown psychologist, that for the first time has let me seriously consider ASD as my problem. It ticked all the boxes. Depression - Check. Social Anxiety - Check. Repetitive behaviour - Check. Sleep deficients - Check. Holy shit, I may be autistic.

source

After some research I found two relatively reliable questionaires which helped me to determine if and how autistic I may be. Self-diagnosis sucks, so please don't treat these as accurate, more like an indication. For what it's worth I don't know any autists that have scored below the autism level on these tests, but I do know neurotypicals that had scores above the autism threshold.

Autism Spectrum Quotient

Empathy Quotient

The conclusion


If you still think that you might be on the spectrum, you should ask yourself if you want to pursue a diagnosis. Even if it seems counter-intuitive, there can be some downsides to an official diagnosis. Depending on where you live these can include social stigma, work discrimination, insurance costs or other.

Surprisingly, recent studies show that 74-86% of adults with Asperger’s are either unemployed, underemployed in jobs that underutilize their knowledge, skills and experience or wrongly employed, that is, working in jobs for which they are not suited.

  • Dr. Kenneth Roberson

Yet for me the financial, emotional und psychological support I get thanks to the diagnosis, the advantages overshadow the negatives for sure.

Thanks for reading!


Click here for more information about ASD

Autism Spectrum Quotient

Empathy Quotient

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kekssideoflife to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations @kekssideoflife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51