My Cognitive Behavioral Therapy // Week 6 // Working Through Emotional Pain

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

pain 2.jpg

My Cognitive Behavioral Therapy // Week 6 // Working Through Emotional Pain


One of the points my counselor friend reminded me of when she gave me this CBT packet was that life is always going to be hard. We are always going to have challenges.
My goal is to learn how to deal with these challenges in a healthy way so that I’m not in a constant state of emotional pain.

Another reason this was a good reminder for me is because I tend to focus on self improvement when I happen to be feeling good and I let it slide when life gets hard.
But when things get difficult that’s exactly when I need it the most.

I’ve been making these posts to hold myself accountable for doing the work and I just realized that I skipped over making a post for week 5 which is a prime example of letting things slide and allowing myself to get too overwhelmed.

I’ve been having a very difficult time because my eldest cat has been sick and it looks like his only option now is to have surgery.
I also found out last week that a dear friend received a very severe cancer diagnosis.

So, I’ve just been in a constant state of worry and sadness. I was talking to my friend @tremendospercy and he reminded me that worrying accomplishes absolutely nothing.
It’s a great reminder to have and it helped to hear it when I was swirling in the vortex of self-created despair.
I’ve since been dealing with the worrying part ok, but the sadness is harder to cope with.
Seeing someone that you love in pain and not being able to alleviate that pain is a hard feeling to deal with.

I’m so disappointed in myself for basically spending the entire weekend in such a low vibrational state and falling back on the old patterns of black and white thinking and catastrophizing.
I guess you could say I fell off the wagon.

This week I’m going to re-assess the SMART goals that I made.
One of the things I tend to do is design unrealistic goals and then feel bad about myself when I can’t accomplish all of them.
After I create smarter goals, I’m going to enter them into my phone so they are easier to follow.

I still don’t know what to do about this feeling of sadness that is weighing on my chest, but I’m going to try my best to not let my thoughts send me into a whirlwind of negativity and despair.

Sort:  

Constantly trying...to remain in the state of "Being Happy"...whatever you do...finding solace...keeping peace with one's innerself..."alleviates pain" and keeps ...mind, body and soul...calm, peaceful...and truly serene (close your eyes!!! talk to your innerself...interact, engage and resolve!!!) :)

Excellent advice, thank you.

Sadness is probably one of my most difficult feelings to deal with because I don't know what to do with it. I guess the thing is to not let it pull you into despair. Probably easier said than done, but I've had a lot of practice with that.

I know, it's frustrating and difficult.

To your post, i just want to say sorry that you are going through what you're going through. I can understand you on this issue 100%. I can say that you have the right idea about bettering yourself. I don't know you but I can tell that you definitely have the potential in you. Your effort and a never give up mindset is your best friend in these situations. And just keeping up with your posts, reading and commenting will just remind you of the support of your followers and people who genuinely care, too. This is my first day on this site and I have already encountered wonderful people here. And besides therapy, you have friends, family, and others here willing to listen and elevate you. It's nice to hear someone else is out there like me and Is getting better, its always nice knowing you're not alone in these situations.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful response and welcome to Steemit!

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed...

Thank you! <3


This post was randomly resteemed by @funaddaa!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 3700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

Sending love your way. Sometimes the best way to deal with sadness is to accept it, and just continue to do your best.

Thanks Sun, I'm trying. <3

This post has received a 18.70 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @isaria. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Woooooow nice friend...........

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post has received a 13.90 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @isaria.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30