You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sarcasm Doesn't Travel Well Online! Why Do We Use Sarcasm? Is Sarcasm Really Our Chasm?

in #psychology7 years ago

You could write about anything and get me interested. That's not sarcasm!
Going in to this article I was slightly defensive of my "right" to use this mode of speech, but your points are totally valid. Sarcasm isn't funny. Funny is funny. However, in the right situation and with the right person, I do think the occasional, extremely inappropriate remark can generate a lot of laughter. It's all about the relationship of the people communicating, and more importantly, the intent. I will be rethinking my use of this "lowest form of wit" and ideally I will always review my intentions and how my words feel before I use them, online and off.
Thanks for the brilliant thoughts my friend! Always a pleasure.

Sort:  

Thanks for your kind words and willingness to explore the unknown! :)
The problem really is that we are capable of existing and thinking without engaging deep feeling and so we lack at least 50% of the information we need to understand the situation that can only come through feelings. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57864.53
ETH 2454.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34