You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I and Thou: The Dynamics of Self in a High Tech World

in #psychology6 years ago

I don't know if it's driving us further apart...I mean, I both agree and disagree with this. For example, I use technology and social media in particular mostly to talk to my friends, some very far away, some just a few blocks from me. If anything, I'd say technology takes you away from your "real" life, it makes you pay less attention to things, to what you're doing or the people who are right there, next to you.

But I think you're right about the fact each generation is becoming more self-absorbed, as it goes. We only listen to others' problems to reply, or to get that out of the way so that we can talk about ourselves. We rarely stop to think that maybe what the other person had to say was just as important...

Sort:  

If you look at technology from the standpoint of potential- it has the potential to make us the most educated people on earth... but it's mostly used for entertainment and self gratification. Look on YouTube at the trending page and see what garbage is there.

I would, but my doctor recommended I avoid that ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32