You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Letting Go of Anger

in #psychology6 years ago

As you say, suppression of anger isn't the answer. It's an emotion we all have and experience, so it must have its place (though I haven't quite found it yet :). It generally comes down to what kind of person do we want to be.

There is the golden rule of doing to others as we would have them do unto you. Thus, I would never want anyone to be angry with me, though I could understand it, therefore, I should try to avoid being angry with others. I guess you could apply that to virtually all situations and 'negative' or unproductive emotions and behaviors.

We get opportunities to learn something about ourselves, though, especially from the reactions we have that are unexpected or surprising to us. I've been finding lately that I have a couple of trigger topics that I didn't know I felt so deeply about. So, if I'm just realizing these things, can I expect others to immediately pick up on the reasons why I do what I do or say what I say?

Very well said here. I like how even though you know what to do, and can expertly provide the ways to avoid anger, that you acknowledge that you're still in need of work yourself. That's how we overcome and be better people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59096.52
ETH 2516.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46