You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 28 | Mindfulness - Acceptance, Awareness & Being Present

in #psychology6 years ago

I'm definitely acceptance-avoidant. One of the big ways I and probably many other people distract themselves from suffering is to eat. But the example you give from your own experience is helpful. Accepting the situation and the emotions that accompany it might help alleviate those food cravings, which might be a projection of the cravings you described (for what we don't have) onto food. Hm. A lot to think about, as usual Abigail! Great discussion!

Sort:  

Than you @geke :)

I am very pleased you liked this topic. Your input is invaluable and it means a lot to me! I agree with your view of projecting the craving onto food, shopping, drinking

Out of the three elements of mindfulness, acceptance is definitely the trickiest one! I can successfully apply it sometimes; but, other times ... oh, well ! Still, this is something I keep in mind whatever distress I am going trough. As I just love the idea of accepting the difficult emotion, but from there ... expanding your experience and understanding that the distress is just part of that entire moment. It has surely, helped me to put things into perspective in the past :)

All the best to you my dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52