You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Autism is a Gift; It is Neurodiversity in a NeuroBland World

in #psychology8 years ago

I don't really have anything to add, except that clicking the upvote didn't seem like enough to express how much I support this.

or simply individuals who don't adjust well to this uninteresting and rule-laden society.

I'm kind of speaking out loud about things I might not understand too much. But I've sometimes thought autism is somehow an evolved defense mechanism against uniformity and groupthink, and that this is why it's on the rise.

Learning to see these people as you describe it is like empathy on steroids, and I think it's a really valuable thing that solves so much of what's wrong today.

Sort:  

@sterlinluxan, as the mother of a young adult daughter with high functioning autism, I only wish more people had this same level of empathy. I would no more want to "cure" her as she would want to be cured. She is an amazing and wise young person who has expanded my world view in a way that is difficult to articulate. Even as our society becomes more accepting of neurodiversity, however, it appears that the worlds of science and medicine are intent on finding ways to ensure that future generations of women only give birth to healthy genetically superior babies. Gattica is closer than we think.

The institutions, I think, are lagging indicators. The smart money is starting to understand how beautiful your daughter is :) And that's what counts, the institutions will have to adapt if they want to stay relevant.

Congrats on having that gift in your life and on rising to the occasion, to understand her like that I'm sure you were a great mother for her.

Thank you for your words @full-measure. It wasn't easy when she was young as she was nonverbal for a number of years but she has been a great gift, and in some respects, she has mothered me. She is a woman child without judgment or criticism, but lives in a serene sense of her own worth. It's enlightening to say the least. She has saved me from myself more than once.

Beautiful conversation here. I am glad both of you are contributing to this community and my feed. It means a lot.

<3

I describe it as sympathy as opposed to empathy. Involuntary attunement. I believe that this is in fact the 'problem'. When you can't get other people's minds out of your mind, you don't want to be around people.

There is definitely some kind of correlation to do with the digestive system as well. I think while this can also be caused by vaccines, it can also be genetic, as both myself and my mother share these two issues, and as well as this, my sister has an autoimmune disease (and all three of us suffer to some extent from arthritis from time to time, my sister the worst).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43