You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exploring the fear of darkness

in #psychology6 years ago

I think with children it’s right to take a more gentle approach, but with adults exposure is the right way to solve it! I guess in this case that would be by sleeping in a dark but completely safe room. I was cured of a spider phobia in Australia when I had to sleep in a hostel room with a massive huntsman spider on the roof.

Sort:  

sleeping in a dark but completely safe room

suddenly being requested to sleep in a dark room might be difficult, even if the person is an adult. Being exposed is surely the best way to go forward but it should be done gradually instead of all of a sudden.

when I had to sleep in a hostel room with a massive huntsman spider on the roof

That sounds like an uncomfortable experience, were you able to have a good sleep?

Yeah I guess it is better not to go to 100% straight away. 100% would probably be picking the spider up like Australians do. I think I woke up a few times just to make sure I could still see it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50