You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 29 |The Architecture of Sustainable Happiness – Positive Psychology

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Dear Abgigail,

I am late but here I am:)

To measure the well-being, there is also a method I can recommend to you.

"Relationships", "work" and "family" are two of the five pillars of identity within the systemic therapy approach after Hilarion Petzold.
The pillars are:

  1. my existence within my body and mind (health, physically, mentally, sexuality)
  2. social environment (family of origin, current family, friends, colleagues etc.)
  3. every form of activity (paid and unpaid work, care, cultural activities etc,)
  4. matter (material goods, wealth, money)
  5. ethics (religion, spirituality, virtues)

I find it of good use to get people answered how they feel in their lives. In addition, I use a scale from 1-10 for each pillar to get quick and clear insight. I myself used art to give each pillar a meaning. It's quite interesting to paint pictures and look at them after some years.

I am convinced that all of them actually should go under the umbrella of ethics (which includes what you say about forgiveness). It is to me of great logic that without acknowledging ethics all other pillars will suffer. Expanding the frame, even more, I also would add to No. 2 also strangers as well as the rest of living creatures.

That completes the system in my eyes.

I would like you to try the method first with yourself. I am curious what you will say. Do you like to do that experiment?

I appreciate reading also not only your articles but your replies to all of the comments. I can see why you are doing it once a week. There is going a lot of care and thoughts into them.

Sort:  

Hello Erika :D

I kept postponing the reply to your comment because I saw you had brought me this wonderful activity! I wanted to do it with nothing else playing in my head! :)
So here I am with a nice cup of tea, listening to some music ... let's go!

Number 1 - I would say 7, mostly because of the component 'mentally' - Lately I have too much on my plate, and I have been feeling both overwhelmed and stressed on a daily basis!
Number 2 - It's a 10
Number 3 - I love this pillar Erika and I am going to say 10!
Number 4 - 9
Number 5 - I am not a religious person, but I believe in kindness - luckily, I haven't found myself in the position of having to act against my moral values. I will give this a 9 because the other day I crossed a pathway in order to avoid talking to someone. I had a million things in my head and did not have the energy! In my defense: he doesn't know when to stop talking (bless him!). :P

Thank you for this Erika! It even gave me the time for some self-reflection. Beautiful :)
All the best to you & your family!
:*

Ps: You could turn this activity into a Steemit challenge! :D

Dear Abigail,
thank you for being open to this little experiment. I am glad you took it for self reflection and enjoyed doing it.

I would say there is nothing to worry ;-) - the 7 is totally okay also.

Though I wouldn't be me without being a little bit more tedious.

If you're between 9 and 10, there's little or no room for frustrating experiences up to the top, which means that this level may need to be pressurized and held - that can feel very heavy in times. This raises the question of whether you have considered this exercise to be a daily result or a general one for the most recent time in your life. The second aspect would be, if I were to ask you with every single pillar whether you think that there are still things that could be improved, you would also have no space to move up because you are already there:)

By improvement I don't mean to be more powerful or to create more things in life or otherwise in this direction, but rather to be "changeable". Does that make sense to you?

Therefore, I would cautiously suggest that you check again to see if you would change anything about some of the results. If not, the better.

I can't give you an exact reason, but I think you are someone who is prone to perfection.; -)

Thank you again & talk to you soon!
<3

Hello Erika,
This is really wonderful. There is no way to conclude this experiment without deep self-reflection. I am going to copy the pillars here to prevent me having to go back up each time, so here we go:

my existence within my body and mind (health, physically, mentally, sexuality)

I could not have been more efficient at watching my my body if I was a medical equipment. How I feel about my body is tied to my happiness. So when I am not feeling 100% either due to illness or my weight (which has always been more than average), I always feel sad. And sadness is a feeling I always try to get rid of as quickly as possible. I would say I am at 9.

social environment (family of origin, current family, friends, colleagues etc.)

** The way my life is now, it would not matter if there is a war going on in the country where I live. I am pretty much oblivious of most of the negative things going on in the world because I am insulated from them because of my family of origin, steemit family, steemit colleagues, offline friends and colleagues. I have been blessed with an awesome social support system. This is a 9**

every form of activity (paid and unpaid work, care, cultural activities etc,)

** I am inclined to believe that every work done, whether for self or for others, is beneficial to us. Therefore, I feel sad and irresponsible whenever I am unable to do some meaningful work. As a result I have so much activities in my life that 24 hours are not enough. So this is a 10.**

matter (material goods, wealth, money)

I have never had much money but I have material goods. I place little value on these things because I realized early in my life that they are not totally under our control. Therefore giving them a place in dertermining how we feel has the potential of causing us harm in the long run. I am not wealthy but I feel like I am. This is an 8.

ethics (religion, spirituality, virtues)

I was born in a Christian family. However, from a very young age, no religion has been able to completely answer most of the questions I have about life, the meaning of life and why we are here. I have found snippets of satisfying answers from several religions, science and mere reflections on life in totality. The only thing that makes sense in this life is love and I believe in love. I am totally at peace with myself and everybody else. Therefore, this is definitely a 10

Oh, Abby, please forgive me once again for turning your blog to forum. I could not help myself. Thank you, Erika for this experiment. I could not have thought about all these without it. All the best from Nigeria to you two.

Happy Valentines Day!

Hello my Dear! You don't need to apologize for anything. You can turn my blog into whatever you want. And, I only say this because I trust you enough to know you would only brings us positive constructive things anyway :) Also, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your feedback! Let's see what Erika will have to say about our replies!! :D

Happy Valentine's day to you too (but, just to let you know, Brazilians celebrate it only in June! :P). Still, I wish you all the best always my dear!

... But, just to let you know, Brazilians celebrate it only in June! :P)

That means double celebration for you, my dear. Who would have thought there was another date for St. Valentine except February, the 14th? Well, that's good to know. Thank you for the permission to use your blog. Yeah, I'm waiting for Erika too.

Hey Churchboy,
Thank you for taking part with Abi:)

I will take my time and look closer at your results and just wanted to let you know that I read your comment and you should know that it's on my list. If you are okay without a response from me let me know. If you would like to have one, please also let me know:)
I totally forgot Valentines day, was it yesterday? LOL
Take care,
E.

Thank you for dropping a comment when you saw my response to the assignment. Of course, I would love to hear what you think. I'm here whenever you are able to reply. I enjoyed the assignment. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99