You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Psychology of the Steem Follower

I want to know who this wild-eyed and sweaty guy is at the bottom of your post. Do I need to be afraid of him? Do I need to bring mace in case he notices me hanging around? Before I answer your questions I think you should answer mine.

~~~~~~~~~~~*

That said, I voluntarily follow blogs because:

  1. the writer writes well or has an interesting (read quirky, distinctive, etc.) style. Sometimes the energy of the writer coming off his / her posts is simply magnetic. I click that button ... and voila!!

  2. the writer writes on subjects that interest me -- and that covers a wide range, from science to politics to psychology to the occult. If s/he is putting out information that informs, entertains or inspires me ... I'm there.

  3. something in the writer's personality appeals to me and I think we might enjoy knowing each other -- or I might enjoy watching him / her from afar. Either one will do.

The day I follow someone because "they're RICH" is the day my husband has permission to shoot me. He would enjoy this too much, so there's no danger there. I'm not about to give him any unwarranted satisfaction.

Comments are nice. Upvotes are nice, too. Conversations can be grand. But I don't like to "force" myself to comment -- and I don't want the other person to feel obligated either. I am also a terribly terribly busy person and I understand when there just aren't enough hours in the day. I truly hope others do, too. Honest, I don't mean to be rude, but I'm only one person and I just stretch so far ....

Sometimes (often!!) I'll drop an upvote instead of a comment ... because I just don't have time, because I appreciate the work, because I like what the author is doing and he could use the pennies I can share. Lots of reasons. NEVER is it to attract attention from anyone ... rich, doing-ok, or poor. (This is probably why I'm not rich myself!!)

That said, there are also accounts I follow "because I have to." I wish there were ways on Steemit to separate follows into categories. Some groups insist that I follow all other members in the group. Some blogs ... that's the only reason I do. (But don't say I said so, ok?)

Somewhere I guess it boils down to "chemistry" -- the reason I follow another account. IRL, some people are "friends," and some are "love interests" and others just give you the creeps. Same deal here. Just not face to face.

I gotta go now. Bye-bye.

The-STEEM-Engine

Sort:  

Wow, this is a long response. I really don't know how you do all this work on Steemit besides your everyday life things. I have seen the effort to create 'The Daily Whistle Stops' dailies and for that reason I have got to give you some applause. We do this because we are enthusiastic about it, well I know I do!

Thanks for voting my article on to 'The Daily Whistle Stops', that is so cool and I really wasn't expecting it. I have never considered myself a writer before I joined Steemit, but find it satisfies my creative outlet. I have no idea if my writing is good, bad or otherwise as that's for others to decide.

So on to the wild-eyed and sweaty guy - which your reponse had me chuckling quite hard about. I don't know who he is either but I do know he is quite safe except for a one minute window between 3.30AM and 3.31AM where he can escape and pound you with a mace (that was an excellent guess) before being forced back into the computer screen, so just be aware of him. This is a little like the 'Gremlins' 'midnight' rule.

My humour is a little warped, I am British after all!

We will try to be in bed by 03:15 just to be on the safe side. I'm sure he won't be able to get to us if we are under the covers with the dogs on top of us.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46