You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Parents Should Nurture Freethinking and Disobedient Children

in #psychology8 years ago

We are seeing that in society right now -- a horrible, malignant sense of entitlement among millennials and gen x-ers. I believe that a balance should be struck and maintained when raising one's kids -- if you're going to punish them for doing something wrong, explain why what they did was wrong and then explain how the punishment fits whatever transgression they committed. Blindly saying "because I said so" doesn't cut it and will just piss off the kid (I know it pissed me off whenever my parents said "because I said so."

Telling your kids to blindly question authority and give the proverbial finger to every single authority figure they come across, and to encourage them to be disobedient little hellions is no good either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65744.86
ETH 3466.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62