You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tricks of the Human Psyche: Unhappiness and the Disease to Please

in #psychology6 years ago

My nieces, who are only younger than my by about 10 years, seem to be of this ilk. It seems to be prevalent of their and continuing genterations, this 'affilicion' of pleasing others.

It is a very interesting situation however as it is in fact people being so self involved to want to look a way to others (thus pleasing them) but somehow hidden in the guise of what they believe to be "being themselves and doing what they want". Yet 'what they want' seems to be to look and act a certain way on phones and social media to live in an illusion of a certain way rather than actually living in truth a certain way.

I really feel that our modern world is highly micro managing the population. As most have a handheld device with direct connection to what they should think, do, feel in their face at all times, it seems an easier task to mold a populations psyche or ideals. It is a funny double edged tricky message of "do what you want be yourself" but in actuality hides the importance of showing your 'happiness and doing what you want' in very specific ways through snapchat, instagram social media and that the look of the thing is the improtant bit, but that you are doing it because it is YOU expressing you. When in fact it is a simple case of giving just enough to lure one into a feeling of connectedness but then pulling back enough with the right adverts about how it'd be nicer if you had or did this and visited this place and looked like this group of people.
It is a very powerful tool and one that seems prevalent to the expression of the current younger generations desire to 'please others' in this very modern way. A way I feel is harder to not see and thus a bit scary.

I was raised by old parents. I loved it. My parents had a set of children when they were younger and raised them completely different to me. I was like an only child and when I arrived I was called a 'blessing' and a 'miracle'. Was I doted on? Somewhat, but my father was still very old school I talked to him sometimes but he mainly went to work and when he retired, which he did when I was still home, he went to his club or out more than pay attention to me. However, my mother and I were fast friends. She being older and maybe wiser always taught me to do things for myself to consider myself first and the to yes consider others. I was also taught things like table manners and to pick up after myself, after all I'd need to take care of myself one day. So I was lucky in that.

Sorry, I've rattled on. I have not edited this comment so it might be incomprehensible, but there you go, your posts inspire me to respond.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89