The Tricks of the Human Psyche: Unhappiness and the Disease to Please

in #psychology6 years ago

We have another houseguest staying for a few days. Being around someone all the time can often offer some interesting insights into what drives a person.

Mrs. Denmarkguy and I often talk about the Human Condition and people's hidden and not so hidden agendas — after all, she's a counselor and spiritual life coach as one of her gigs and I've been studying psychology since my college days — and do so simply because humans are fascinating.

People Pleasing: The Eternal Need for Approval

Our friend who is staying is basically a nice and fairly high functioning person... except for this one thing that dominates her life: She's always seeking the approval of others for pretty much every aspect of her life.

Flower
Nasturtium in close-up

I'm sympathetic, as I understand how that can come to be. I recognize part of myself from my younger days... always making my choices and actions somehow dependent on what other people might think of me, and on how the outcome of a situation might cast judgment on my character.

It's a surprisingly large amount of work (not to mention fruistrating, in the long run!) to be eternally bent into a surreal pretzel shape in service of anticipating other people's needs. Not to mention the fact that others rarely really care about all our hard work to make them happy.

And yet? This is something that affects a lot of people. 

I say "affects" because I do end up at a place of questioning whether or not this is an affliction. Many might argue that it's good and noble to care about the well-being and happiness of others, and that selflessness is very positive attribute. 

I suppose it depends on your motivations, covert and overt.

A Path To Frequent Unhappiness

Personally, I was raised by parents who saw children as little more than "assets" and "pieces of furniture" whose essential function in life was to be a sort of "indentured servant."

Flower
Cherry Blossom

I'm sure a lot of kids (and now adults) feel that way about their upbringings; my point here is that I had very little opportunity to develop an actual "sense of self" before leaving home at 18.

When I was 18, I had little experience of defining "who I was" or "what to do" except in terms of how I could get some form of validation from doing things for others. To the degree I had a "self," it was deeply suppressed.

Our friend also grew up with extremely domineering parents and has struggled much with the "People Pleasing Disease," in the sense that she has often lived through long periods of depression and occasional suicidal ideations. 

Of course, there's often a self-perpetuating irony there... people tend to see people pleasers as very happy, helpful and easy-going, which is very difficult to associate with dark depressive moods; "Oh, she's always so pleasant, happy and accommodation... how can she be depressed?"

Alas, a people-pleasing temperament and depression often walk hand in hand.

Self-Forgetting — The Loss of Self

To help understand the depression conundrum, let us remember that there's a lot of psychology and self-help wisdom that talks about "being authentic" and "staying true to yourself."

Flower
Narcissus

But what does that mean when your "self" definition is almost entirely outer-referencing? That is, you're always looking outside yourself for answers to problems and issues inside you. 

In essence, people pleasers have forgotten themselves. But we never truly forget. That is, we do know who we are and what we authentically prefer... at least on a subconscious level. 

But we struggle to access that "true" self because we have been conditioned to believe that we are only "allowed" to exist as a subset of other people's preferences. "Yes, I'd love Chinese food for dinner... as long as it is what everyone else wants!"

There's a quote from  Rita Mae Brown that comes to mind:

"The Reward for Conformity is that Everyone Likes you Except Yourself"

Regaining Your Identity

Many years ago when I was therapy, my therapist asked me a poignant question:

Flower
Center of a red lily

"Who exactly would you BE if you weren't eternally wrapped up in what all these people around you might be thinking of you and wanting from you?"

Regaining yourself is a slow process of defining your likes and preferences without first scouting the horizons to make sure that what you choose is also what makes everyone else happy.

To anyone who's not struggling with this issue, that may sound easy enough... but it's not. Everybody has their own process, of course — mine mostly consisted of isolation. If there's nobody around to confer with, you pretty much have to make your own choices, and in the process you grow back in touch with your true preferences. And eventually you get used to them.

Part of the process is also to learn healthy personal boundary setting, hereunder learning that your perspective and preferences are just as valid as anyone else's.

Our houseguest is gradually learning that nobody will think her a "bad person" as a result of having her own preferences that aren't necessarily in step with everyone else's. And if someone does think you a "bad person" for not agreeing with them, that is as much their issue as it is yours!

How about YOU? Do you have any people pleasers in your you life? Alternatively, have you been — or are you — one, yourself? How do you feel about people who always seem to depend on others to form their opinions? Do you think they are selfless? Or spineless? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!


created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180421 17:00 PDT

Sort:  

As social beings we are in constant interaction with others. The people closest to us, our social environment and culture shape our way of thinking on a fundamental level and that's why we have so many different people all around the world.
The question your therapist asked you is somehow absurd as it cannot be answered precisely and to be honest that is perfectly okay.
Often our self representation has to be in accordance with what's appropriate in the social group we chose to belong to.
But what you refer to is when that self representation blurs the margins between it and what we consider to be our true self.
Such behavior means living constantly in fear of rejection and being anxious about every single detail of yourself.
It is true that in the root of this problem are suppressed memories of events from the persons childhood and I like the way you included that in your article.
Overall you did great job with this post and I would gladly resteem it!
Cheers!

Thanks for the visit @dysfunctional, and for the support. I don't recall "seeing" you here before, so welcome!

The human psyche is a fascinating place, and I find myself grateful that your brains are relatively plastic — we can often "rewire" our neural net to undo damage and trauma from times gone by.

My therapist's question way back then was probably designed to simply "break state" as much as anything; to shake me out of a pervasive tendency to only be able to view my own reality through the lens of perception of others. I am a lot more self-referencing now; as an oversimplified analogy, I am able to simply examine whether "I like the flavor of this ice cream" vs. being preoccupied by a barrage of inner analysis to determine liking "liking" or "disliking" the ice cream will be the safest and most acceptable thing to do.

Hope you check in from time to time; I regularly write about self-development, consciousness and the foibles of the human condition.

I have been following you for a while but did not engage with a comment.
I will surely continue to follow you and contribute with comments when needed.
I have read your other latest articles and I am looking to see more of you.
Cheers!

When one grows up with constant emphasis and reminders to "get along" with siblings or classmates, and hearing, "Do you really want to do that?" or, "That's not like you at all," seeking the approval of others to "fit in" becomes second nature. After a few decades of that, it's easy to forget exactly who you really are.

Indeed, fitting in becomes more important than the self... and if you are — by nature — of a somewhat "compliant" (rather than combative) temperament, it only seems to amplify the situation.

My own loss of self stemmed much from parents who declared anything they didn't like "nonsense" and the same for anything I felt that didn't suit their reality.

"I don't LIKE carrots!"

Nonsense! You love carrots!

"I don't feel so good..."

Nonsense! You're perfectly OK!

"But I think the peanuts made me ill... " (I'm actually allergic to peanuts)

Oh, what absolute rubbish! I don't have time for your stories...

When that's your reality, having "an identity" simply becomes irrelevant.

She's always seeking the approval of others for pretty much every aspect of her life.
Totally alien to my way of thinking.
Don't understand it at all.

Alien to a lot of people's way of thinking.
But people go there, surprisingly often.
Pretty much the opposite end of the spectrum from pathological narcissism.

pathological narcissism.
huh?
had to look that one up.

  • A person with narcissistic personality disorder generally has a distorted sense of importance or ability. In clinical terms, they tend to have grandiose thoughts about their social value, particularly in relation to other people.

ANOTHER disorder? It would seem that anyone who doesn't follow the straight and narrow (as defined by professionals), has some kind of disorder.

How about 'just want to live my own life and don't particularly care what other's think'..

What kind of disorder is that?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Not really around people pleasers . Although I myself am someone who likes Peace plus I do get enjoyment out of helping people around me. My Mom is the same way but it is not anything like we feel we have to or that are self worth is wrapped up in making others happy. And we don't get discouraged if by some chance people do not say "thank you" or if they don't appreciate it

We just do it because it gives us satisfaction and enrichment more or less.

I admit I was rather fortunate to grow up with parents who didn't look at me like some kind of 'property" or "asset" and treated us with the utmost respect but also made it clear that they were still the parents who made sure we followed some Rules. Plus, they always encouraged us to be individuals and have our own opinions.

Anyway. thanks for the post @denmarkguy. Oh yeah, Btw, I mentioned you today in my blog post. Don't worry nothing bad lol .....actually in a good light of course :)

Take care

My nieces, who are only younger than my by about 10 years, seem to be of this ilk. It seems to be prevalent of their and continuing genterations, this 'affilicion' of pleasing others.

It is a very interesting situation however as it is in fact people being so self involved to want to look a way to others (thus pleasing them) but somehow hidden in the guise of what they believe to be "being themselves and doing what they want". Yet 'what they want' seems to be to look and act a certain way on phones and social media to live in an illusion of a certain way rather than actually living in truth a certain way.

I really feel that our modern world is highly micro managing the population. As most have a handheld device with direct connection to what they should think, do, feel in their face at all times, it seems an easier task to mold a populations psyche or ideals. It is a funny double edged tricky message of "do what you want be yourself" but in actuality hides the importance of showing your 'happiness and doing what you want' in very specific ways through snapchat, instagram social media and that the look of the thing is the improtant bit, but that you are doing it because it is YOU expressing you. When in fact it is a simple case of giving just enough to lure one into a feeling of connectedness but then pulling back enough with the right adverts about how it'd be nicer if you had or did this and visited this place and looked like this group of people.
It is a very powerful tool and one that seems prevalent to the expression of the current younger generations desire to 'please others' in this very modern way. A way I feel is harder to not see and thus a bit scary.

I was raised by old parents. I loved it. My parents had a set of children when they were younger and raised them completely different to me. I was like an only child and when I arrived I was called a 'blessing' and a 'miracle'. Was I doted on? Somewhat, but my father was still very old school I talked to him sometimes but he mainly went to work and when he retired, which he did when I was still home, he went to his club or out more than pay attention to me. However, my mother and I were fast friends. She being older and maybe wiser always taught me to do things for myself to consider myself first and the to yes consider others. I was also taught things like table manners and to pick up after myself, after all I'd need to take care of myself one day. So I was lucky in that.

Sorry, I've rattled on. I have not edited this comment so it might be incomprehensible, but there you go, your posts inspire me to respond.

I struggle with this myself, though it's an area I've made some real gains in. I often slip back when I'm feeling physically bad. It's like an old habit I slip back into without even realising it at times.

The mantra "What other people think of me is none of my nusiness" is my go-to these days. It helps me slot back into myself.

outstanding share,i like your blog,well work
thanks for sharing

A lot of people get people pleasing with being nice mixed up. I was a people pleaser for many years, trying to fit into what everyone wanted me to be (like you say) whilst giving no shits as to what I wanted to be! I'm no people pleaser now but I still try and be nice and care! Nice with boundaries :) A people pleaser will manipulate the act of 'caring' (in my experience) to shape the way people look at them. It's what I did.

Being nice is being nice for the hell of it. Because you want to and you don't care what others think about you being nice to whomever :)

Personally I think it's an affliction. It really was. It was like being trapped in a never-ending parent-child cycle lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70