Sort:  

I guess I mean it in a "wisdom of the crowd" sort of sense. My hypothetical friend, who is a cynic about human nature 100% of the time, will be wrong sometimes. If I am optimistic 100% of the time, then there are times when I will really need his outlook.

We might butt heads sometimes, but we can definitely improve each other's lives. Easier said than done, right? Finding the kinds of friends where we can complement each other and have room to seriously disagree without some huge impact on the friendship is not a trivial task.

I feel blessed to have such people in my life.

But now going far afield of the original discussion... This is why I distrust the archetype of the self-made man and the modern prepper types who are preparing to do it all alone.

Since we were cavemen, human survival has used cooperative strategies where people of different but complementary skillsets improved the overall survival chances of everyone around them.

The prepper is preparing for some "survive alone" situation that has rarely worked in human history. The self-made man is basically forgetting the work of all the "plebes" that made it possible. Neither of these points is meant to diminish either the idea of autonomy nor the entrepreneurial merits of the "self-made man!"

Okay... Apologies... Rant finished! ;-p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53