You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Developing Our Capacities to Think and Learn

in #psychology7 years ago

Wisdom, and food for thought, as always.

These days, I find myself feeling increasing gratitude towards my parents who taught me-- from pretty much when I started to talk-- that I had to "think for myself." It was annoying as hell having to "reason through" why I had to have the same jeans as the other kids... I could still have them, but I had to understand my motivations.

Balance. Balance matters. For me, it's too easy to spend all my time in the rabbit hole of exploring causality and original motivations behind *everything." Or-- as a friend of mine sometimes says-- "sometimes crows eating crawfish are just crows eating crawfish." I like to understand as much as possible... but have to stop myself from overintellectualizing.

Sort:  

LOL, yes there are limits. Keep the "why" asking for practical matters more than more mundane things ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54