You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Attrition and Intuition: Gaslighting and Other Psychological Warfare/Mischief

in #psychology7 years ago

Yeah.... Gaslighting is a particularly invasive and yet subtle form of manipulation. Been on the (attempted) receiving end a few times; as a result it has become somewhat interesting to me to understand who seems more likely to become the victims in the equation. Seems like a poorly defined sense of self when you are in your formative years (at least this held true for me) makes you a likely "target." If you don't think much of yourself, someone's "kind" words (however inauthentic) can be an easy hook...

Simple awareness is an important part of the road to healing.

Sort:  

@denmarkguy Honestly, I think for me it was just an naive inability to imagine that someone would do this. I consider myself to be somewhat self aware and not above fault so I considered that some failures in communications could and probably were my fault but the pattern and inability of the other person to admit any wrongdoing ever gave rise to a suspicion that something was not and is not right. So, I talked with a psychologist friend for an objective opinion and got some helpful advice. The rest, well as they say, is history. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

Interesting... I guess part of my own downfall also was the result of not being able to accept(?) that some people "are simply mean." And I say that, standing apart from any hurts and wounds they may have... simply referring to how they are in life, in this moment. I was in a dumbfounded "Why would anyone want to DO that???" state.

Glad you've found some healing! These experiences can be hard to shed... and trusting people again a tricky proposition.

That is the catch....trusting! But the rewards of being around good people is worth the risk!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61281.76
ETH 3378.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55