You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: At Times, I Ponder the Insanity of the World

in #psychology6 years ago

I'd tend to agree with you about solitude. As the Mark Twain quote goes, 'The more I learn about people, the more I like my dog'.
As to the ineffectual band-aid solutions, I'd join you in pointing at the healthcare, food and energy industries but there are certainly 2 fingers pointing back at us since it is we ourselves who choose to support them with every penny we spend.

Sort:  

Money talks! Consumers have constantly shown with their behavior that they prefer the cheapest alternative despite surveys that show the opposite. That's why our food is garbage, our airlines are terrible, our clothing is disposable.

But people are starting to finally come around, and I see change slowly creeping into these fields. I think there is hope for us yet, it just might take a little longer than some would like. Even in energy, I see more and more people putting solar panels up, and more and more wind projects coming online.

Now healthcare, on the other hand.... eesh.

shudder

I am not sure exactly when it happened, but it seems to me that somewhere along the way we were told that the optimal thing was to have the BIGGEST pile of toys, rather than the BEST. Terms such as "planned obsolescence became part of our cultural narrative; "success" was measured not by actual accomplishment and the resulting happiness...but simply by our capacity to build an ever larger bank balance.

It all strikes me as WAY out of balance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59836.36
ETH 2365.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47