Sort:  

Haha, that is one thing. I myself prefer older guys but I don't think I'd go for someone 20 years older or more! hahaha

@Brianphobos - I think it's more about looking for those stereotypical 'daddy' traits in a partner than him being older (though an age gap certainly fosters it - older guys tend to 'take care' and 'provide' for their younger sugar...um, younger girlfriends lol).

@thegiamarcos - I think most younger girls prefer older men - especially in our late teens/early 20's - because the majority of guys at that age are still immature (with exceptions, of course). Women (generally) 'mature' faster than men - so I bet that plays a huge part of it -of course, along with everything you discussed in your post.

I always dated older guys in my younger days (and god, treated them like shit, suffered commitment issues like you too lol) But my BF is a few years younger (4) and I'm mid 30's now - when we started out in our 20's, I looked at him as a friend with benefits and younger brother type ...go figure lol.

On the general 'daddy issues' theme - I grew up in a household where roles were reversed. Though my dad paid the bills and all that - my mom 'wore the pants' - and ruled with an iron fist. My dad was soft and gentle (and also a preacher), and after mom died, he functioned in both roles. I think I spent a good portion of my life looking for the traits my mom had in men I'd date - but she was, if I'm honest, borderline abusive and controlling, and always putting my dad down. I picked up a bit of that I think because I looked at anything else as weak...crazy how our childhood experiences mold us - crazier still how must of us fit pretty well into a paradigm or at least loosely fall into categories whether we want to or not!

(And wow....you're a strong ass woman - sounds like you've come out of some pretty tough stuff with a good head on your shoulders and some serious writing chops (and a sense of humor)!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49