Why I Needed A Steemit Break

in #psychology6 years ago

We've all read what the Dolphins and Whales suggest... and they tell us over and over again: "post at least once a day," "post quality content," "post twice, or three times a day if you can." It sounds great and it sounds easy, but let's be honest, quality content sometimes takes an hour, or two hours to compose. Then after taking part of my already full day, it may get a few cents without upvote buying. And even when they say upvote buying will get you double, once it is broke down and paid out, you are lucky if you break even.

My work schedule changes over the summer and I am working ten hour days, with almost a two hour commute, so literally on the days I work I rush home hoping to relax for a couple hours before bed. One of the biggest reasons I had to take a break too is because I had to get continuing education hours to renew my counseling license. So, instead of spending countless hours on Steemit, I was spending a lot of hours towards making sure I could renew my license for my career.

Not to beat a dead horse, but after I took some time off of Steemit, I started to think about how much time I was losing. Don't get me wrong, I love to write. However, with all of my education in psychology, I've learned if you put an extrinsic reward on an intrinsic passion for something, it can take away your love and desire to do a task that would normally have brought you joy. In a way, that is what was happening. Even when I reminded myself that I could just write daily because I loved it... seeing the monetary value on my posts changed how I felt about what I was doing.

Don't get me wrong, I have been lucky that I've gained a huge following in such a short time. I've had bloggers choose my posts to be featured on their page because they felt like my posts were quality content. Which I am grateful and proud of my content. However, it doesn't change the fact that there are people out there that write total bulls**t and make $$$ bank on it because they are a "whale." And, really we would all love for our posts to make that same amount because an extrinsic reward has been put on blogging.

However, in my time off Steemit, 15 days exactly... I've lived. And it felt amazing! Besides completing 40 hours of continuing education hours, I've taken time for myself, my husband, my friends, and my family. I went to the hair salon and got a new hairdo:
me.jpg

I tried working evening shifts at work and decided I hated it. I've binged on Netflix and became addicted to Vampire Diaries. I've went shopping and tried on clothes I would not normally buy for myself just to step out the box:
me1.jpg

My husband and I have taken walks around our property and spent time with his family. Just today we had a cookout and had a chance to eat dinner with them. On one of our walks, I saw this very brave bunny that stayed awhile and didn't budge till we got very close to it:
bunny.jpg

I went and hung out with one of my friends and celebrated with her kids that it was their last day of school by bringing them pizza. I went to a friends birthday party. I even took time to hang out with my best friend and try to help her figure out some things at the library:
beth and me.jpg

This list could go on... so I'm going to stop here and just say that I don't plan on quitting Steemit, but I do plan on taking more time to just live. In reality, we all should. I know that many of you are just like me, and you have jobs and families that you must maintain. Most of you, just like myself, cannot throw up a crap post and make hundreds of dollars on each one of them because we didn't find a way to weasel the system. So, I urge you to take time for yourself, and for your families and friends. We only live one life, and trying to find a get rich scheme shouldn't be the focus of it. ;)

Sort:  

So you have been that's why I didn't get to see you around. Well, I have not posted here in a week I think lol! I still come and comment here and there. Work got in the way and too much of my time. I don't complain about it because it only happens a few times so I meet it with open hands lol!

I have given up on making it big here in steemit. I just come here for the fun of it. It only stresses me if I think about it too much and asking all the whys.

I hope I could spend my time with family and friends like you. However, it is the monsoon season here and it rains every single day. Nothing to do but stay indoors haha!

I hope I don't sound like a complainer lol. I am actually thankful that I took sometime away and really enjoyed it to remind myself not to allow something to consume me or my time. I guess by doing so, I just wanted to be honest with others and hope that it makes others think about taking time for themselves and not getting too wrapped up in the making money part of it.

I have missed all of you who I enjoyed chatting with on here. A few times I pulled up Steemit and wanted to take time to comment, but I just couldn't because I just was not in the mind frame to do so at the time. I think I needed time to get my responsibilities done, and to take sometime away.

That's perfectly normal. I complain a lot myself haha! I understand where you are coming from because I feel the same way but then again let's control what we can control.

I always feel like that. I browse and read a lot but not comment. Gotta make a living first haha!

I get it! lol... I guess I am fortunate to be in a good place financially for myself. I can't say I've always been here. I grew up less fortunate for American standards... but I'm sure is still luxurious compared to many other countries. However, I worked hard to get here... and I guess I just want to enjoy it and not focus on money so much. I'm not rich at all lol... but I am content even though many others think I should want more. Just being able to open my refrigerator and have food makes me happy, or to have working air conditioning, or to have internet access, or television access seems like enough to make me content. Which may not seem like a huge luxury to other people from the US, but it is to me. So I appreciate what I have which is more than I had before. I guess I don't want to get wrapped in trying to get rich on here at all... I just want to continue appreciating what I have.

You are reading my mind. It is indeed great to be grateful for what we have and I appreciate you.

I've been in that same boat. I enjoy my time here and on the other social media's I use but I had been spending too much total time on them. I've cut back on everything for the same reasons as you. I also love it and have no plans to quit but I'm not going to focus on them like I was trying to. I also want it to stay fun and not be like a job. I have one of those. lol

Agreed! Steemit should be fun and a cool way to network with other people. I don't want it to feel like a job either.

Your post is original quality content. 💫🌿💫

I really appreciate your way of thinking. Your all posts are quality content and original content. But I feel that your posts are get as rewards as you had made your quality posts. I also feel that on steemit we can get reward with spent money on boosters if we have no money we will not get rewarded as our quality posts have a right. Sometimes I also feel that I'm wasting my time.
I should give more time to my family my children and my relatives.

Thanks for sharing good quality post.
I was waiting for your post.

Thank you! I try to make quality posts. However, I do feel that some people got where they were not by quality posts, but only because they were able to bank on steem power to attract people to it. I'm sure upvoting booster may help some people who can spend a lot on it because people jump in voting and commenting on posts that look like they have a high dollar amount on them because they want to profit on the post too... not because it is a quality post.

I did use a booster in some of my posts and then the steem/sbd plummeted haha!

I've used them too. #guilty... I'm not saying that they can't be beneficial. It just seems more beneficial for those who have more money to spend towards it.

You are right the boosters are beneficial for those who have money to spent.

I think that a good boosters should be on steemit, to give automatically vote on quality content posts, without and any bids.
I'm also getting boosts from boosters, but I feel it is not good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87