You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Parents Should Nurture Freethinking and Disobedient Children

in #psychology8 years ago

My son has a tendency to try and talk over adults when they're talking and that is one thing I jump on him about.

I taught them the difference between aggressive questioning and true questioning that is borne out of curiosity.

Wow is that important. Never considered that distinction, though I've spent more than enough time in forums to recognize the difference hah. Thank you for that.

Glad I'm not the only one wondering the same :)

I'm going to start contributing more to the #parenting channel. You should join, @florentina!

Sort:  

@blakemiles84, I never knew the distinction either until I married a man with a personality disorder and noticed how he "questioned" his kids. His so-called curiosity was intended to intimidate and emotionally manipulate his children and it resulted in them feeling shamed, defensive and confused. To my dismay, these kids themselves began using aggressive questioning as they entered their teens as a way to assert authority within the family. My own kids would become confused, then angry, at their step siblings and eventually became more guarded in their responses. I recall explaining the difference between aggressive questioning and true questioning at a "family meeting" but my ex mocked me the entire time and told me that my kids and I were too sensitive. I believe more than ever that the path to a better future and a more just society begins with raising children with intelligence, empathy and deep love. I did the best I could when I was a young mother but oh, to be able to go back twenty years and do it all over again knowing what I know now? I would, in a heartbeat.
Thanks, I'll check out the parenting channel!

After reading your comment @florentina , I wanted to say that I am glad you didn't stoop down to your ex's level. The pressure others give us is a huge part of some of societies issue. Some can get under the skin and make us give in (because they make others feel it is supposed to be that way, whether we like it or not). I am glad to hear there ARE parents who follow their heart. For that reason, your kids will get further in life and know how to handle things. Your step-kids will only know how to handle things aggressively and that is not good. I also like that you said you would do it all over again :-) I still to this day, feel guilt about the few times I spanked my son. I will never be able to forget the look on his face (that was the last time I hit him). He is not afraid of me, but it took a few years to overcome that, anytime he did something I was not ok with. I hope these posts help others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71