You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Betting Wisdom | #8 Always Hold Yourself Accountable

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I can't say that I follow anybodies tips, that is I don't place bets based on the tips that other tipsters make.

That being said, I do follow other tipsters and I'm very interested in what they have to say. Every once in a while you find a nugget of gold. A different way to approach things, a detailed knowledge of a league or a team,...

Regarding accountability, at the end of the day, the bets you've placed are placed by you - nobody is holding a gun to your head.

Now, let me tell you a strange story about self-responsibility and self-improvement :)

In early 2000s I used to watch a sci-fi show called Farscape. I won't bore you with details, but there's one scene that's etched in my memory forever.

A main character (Crichton) is bitching and moaning about how he can't make things to work out. He's trying and failing, in fact he's making it worse. He wants another character to help him out but he refuses to do it, he doesn't' want the responsibility for the potentially disastrous outcome. The following quote is the gist of it:

Crichton: “I’m in a hell of a slump here. Everything I do just makes things worse.”
Harvey: “Well then, do better.”

“Well then, do better.” - said by an ugly guy in a leather suit is what pops up in my mind when I'm trying to make excuses for my poor performance. I told you it's a strange story :)

Quick google search gives me this, so that you can remember that scene too :)

The scene's at 25m18s

Sort:  

Great story!

Sometimes these movies and tv shows actually have an impact and plant a seed in your mind that grows over time and makes a difference. Nice read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59